Mootools optimization

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security and Performance FAQs
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
MorfiusX
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Mootools optimization

Post by MorfiusX » Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:48 pm

I have been trying to optimize my site http://c3ohio.com . Using the optimizer at http://www.websiteoptimization.com/services/analyze/, I see that mootools.js is by far the largest file that gets loaded. In fact, it's over half of the size of my page. I have tried to use a custom mootools.js from http://mootools.net/. My page loads fine, but I get a JavaScript error in IE. How can I trace what is causing the error so I make sure to include those functions in the custom mootools.js? Even when I selected all components, the file was only ~40k, while the native 1.5 file size is ~70k. Where are the extra 30k coming from? Thanks!

MorfiusX
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Mootools optimization

Post by MorfiusX » Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:27 am

Well, I've kinda figured it out. I basically removed components one at a time from the file using the custom downloader at Mootools.net.

I have a new question though. Is there anyway to specify a different mootools.js for the template vs the one for the admin site?
Last edited by MorfiusX on Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

MorfiusX
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by MorfiusX » Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:52 pm

I'm pretty sure I have everything working the way I want it. I wrote an article on my site about this. It can be viewed here:
http://c3ohio.com/index.php/rick-winkle ... la-15.html

ak4life
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by ak4life » Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:30 pm