Impossible to load my home page with joomla 1.5

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 Performance issues.
Locked
stbosco
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:52 pm

Impossible to load my home page with joomla 1.5

Post by stbosco » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:32 am

Hi,

Once I decided to get rid off google calendar (from the admin interface) which was not displaying anything our website home page

http://www.kildysartcc.com

does not load up any more!

It's like the home page link has been broken? I'm very new with joomla and I don't understand why by removing a calendar module/plugin it would impact the home page unless something else happened.

The file manager shows me at the root no index.html file - is it normal?

Is the permission set it right ? can the file index.php be executed with a chmod 644 or I needs to increase permissions?

The main files are as follow

index.php (permission 644)
index2.php (permission 644)
configuration.php
configuration.php-dist
htaccess.txt
robots.txt
License.php
Licenses.php
install.php
changelog.php

All have permission 644 except configuration which has less permission with 444

Also there is a backups folder under root with only one file a index.html but can not view it - should I copy it to the root - to see if my home page would return to normal?

What about the htaccess file do I need to check in it?

All your help will be extremely appreciated as it's a school website I was updating with news and now no access to the webpages any more.

many thanks
Frank

User avatar
johans
I've been banned!
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: Impossible to load my home page with joomla 1.5

Post by johans » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:58 am

try to set your SEO and SEF to 0

stbosco
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:52 pm

Re: Impossible to load my home page with joomla 1.5

Post by stbosco » Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:20 pm

Johans,

not familiar with joomla yet...:)
how to you do this? what the purpose of these parameter?
thanks
Frank

User avatar
johans
I've been banned!
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: Impossible to load my home page with joomla 1.5

Post by johans » Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:26 pm

you can find it in Global settings on your Joomla backend.

stbosco
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:52 pm

Re: Impossible to load my home page with joomla 1.5

Post by stbosco » Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:12 pm

For some strange reason in my backend I don't have any icone (in control pannel) which gives me access to the global setting so I can change as you recommended the SEF and SEO parameter. Do you know what I have to do to get this icon, is it something link to permission rights setting?


I found the following in the joomla forum which sounds the same issue as what I have - what do you think?

The Problem:
On some server configurations Joomla is unable to discern the url correctly. This causes index.php to be considered as a directory and not the destination.

The Solution:
In the file configuration.php there is a var $live_site = ""; in this place the url that you are using to get to joomla. If you are on a dev site then enter the dev value but remember to set it to the live site value when you go live. This value should contain the full qualified domain name. var $live_site = "http://www.tomred.net"; for my site for example.

This means joomla can be certain of the base URL for your system.

Thanks
Frank


Locked

Return to “Performance - Joomla! 1.5”