php variables from Joomla Article to Template

Discussion and education for beginner / novice programmers interested in embarking on the development process to take advantage of the extensible nature of the Joomla! CMS.
plgard
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

php variables from Joomla Article to Template

Post by plgard » Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:32 am

Sorry if this is in the wrong place!

If you had anything to do with the development of Joomla, THANKS. This thing is pretty amazing!

I'm new to Joomla. I'm using version 1.5.5.

I've created a template with content being loaded by "echoed" php variables. My plan was to declare the variables in a Joomla article, hoping, that my content would show up neatly organized in my template in all the intened places.

I started by using "jumi" and just "including" two files. One with the content by way of declared variables and the other an html/php template with variables echoed.

Code: Select all

{jumi [files/article_content.inc]}
{jumi [files/article_template.php]}
That worked, but maintaining a file with content defeats the purpose of a database.

So I added the template code to the joomla template "templates/ja_purity/html/com_content/article/default.php"

The template looks fine, it understandibly has no content but displays as intended.

Then, I installed "includePHP" intending to enter my "content" directly in the Joomla article using php code to declare my variables.

Code: Select all

{php}$reviewdate = 12 / 31 / 2007;{/php}
{php}$reviewer = Paul;{/php}
{php}$bio = ($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . "/ssi/bio-plg.php");{/php}
{php}$manufacturer = Rapala;{/php}
{php}$product = Original Floater;{/php}
{php}$idvote = originalfloater;{/php}
{php}$msrp = 6.99;{/php}
{php}$street = 5.99;{/php}
{php}$imgthumbs = /images/misc/LabThumbsUp.jpg;{/php}
{php}$altthumbs = Thumbs Up!;{/php}
{php}$testbed01 = Rods: St. Croix;{/php}
{php}$testbed02 = Reels: Shimano;{/php}
{php}$testbed03 = Line: SpiderWire;{/php}