Extended Menu

Do you have an Open Source Product available for Joomla!? Let everyone know here.
Locked
User avatar
midwestkel
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by midwestkel » Wed May 21, 2008 11:26 pm

triffen,

Check the "Split Menu" part in the module for the menu. If it is set to 2 then thats the problem. Just change it and it should work.
Kelly Karnetsky - I make websites for various reasons
█ I run a nifty game, entertainment & tech site http://flesheatingzipper.com

 
triffen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:39 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by triffen » Thu May 22, 2008 1:05 am

midwestkel--

thanks for the advice. I have taken a look at this, but it doesn't seem to be the problem (it was originally blank). I have attached a copy of my parameters as they sit right now. Perhaps that could help.

triffen
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
midwestkel
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by midwestkel » Thu May 22, 2008 3:25 am

triffen.

You have the exact same setup I did. I was having issues going more than 3 level and it displaying correct even though it displayed.

I moved to swMenuMaker (http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/)

It took me 3 minutes to set up, and its 1.5 native. You might want to try that.
Kelly Karnetsky - I make websites for various reasons
█ I run a nifty game, entertainment & tech site http://flesheatingzipper.com

clicksubhendu
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by clicksubhendu » Thu May 29, 2008 6:13 am

Very nice it is.... :)

And thanks guys for sharing informations.
Subhendu
My Website: www.subhendu3d.com
My Favourite Gamesite: www.eivaagames.com

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by TomT » Thu May 29, 2008 6:32 am

Extended menu is a 1.0.x module. Almost all it's functions are now part of the standard J!1.5 menu. Personally I don't think there is a need for extended menu in 1.5.

quiquedcode
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:11 pm
Location: San Juan - Argentina
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by quiquedcode » Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:49 pm

Hi guys
Long time since I posted a q. here
I'm looking for a way to make an Extended Menu (using CSS Tree) menu, to expand automatically, like here (I don't remember where I took this url)
http://www.destroydrop.com/javascripts/tree/example/

The site is here, and I've modded the images of the CSS Tree template
http://69.89.31.53/~thompsq3/web

Does any1 know how to make the items to expand without reloading the page?
Thanks a lot in advance
@kabeza
Freelance Joomla/CodeIgniter Developer
Home: http://www.beza.com.ar

pdowd
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:04 am

Re: Extended Menu

Post by pdowd » Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:26 am

Hi Guys,

I am trying to set up multiple extended menu modules on my site so that i can show a list of articles from each section on each sections main page. This should be easy, but after creating two ext_menu modules it won't display the others with any content.

1. The first i've created is a module with all the site articles in a drop down list, and this is published to ALL pages - works perfectly

2. I then created a module which lists all the articles in list format from ONE section and have published to one page. - works perfectly

3. I've now tried to recreate the second module i made so that i can do the same thing on other section pages, but it just doesn't show the module on the page in the area i want... which seems weird. It still shows the first module which is on ALL pages, but not the new ones specific for that page.

FYI, the page with the first and second modules on it works fine - so it does work, just doesn't want to repeat the success on more than one page!!

anyone got any ideas?

Thanks, Paul

P.S. I have now solved this problem by using the Joomlaworks UCD which is AWESOME :D. Wanted to let ppl know that they could do the same functionality with UCD as the main extra that i see ex_menu offering.

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by TomT » Mon Jun 02, 2008 7:07 am

quiquedcode wrote: I'm looking for a way to make an Extended Menu (using CSS Tree) menu, to expand automatically, like here (I don't remember where I took this url)
http://www.destroydrop.com/javascripts/tree/example/

The site is here, and I've modded the images of the CSS Tree template
http://69.89.31.53/~thompsq3/web

Does any1 know how to make the items to expand without reloading the page?
Thanks a lot in advance
Hola señor quiqued, que tal? Is this how you want it to work: http://voortgezetteopleidingen.nl/content/view/16/29/ ? I'm not sure if i understand your question right.

quiquedcode
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:11 pm
Location: San Juan - Argentina
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by quiquedcode » Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:16 pm

TomT wrote:Hola señor quiqued, que tal? Is this how you want it to work: http://voortgezetteopleidingen.nl/content/view/16/29/ ? I'm not sure if i understand your question right.
Hi TomT !!
Yes, that's what I want. Is that made with extended menu? If so, how?
I mean: that menu expand without reloading the page, pure javascript tree... that's the way I want to acchieve with extended menu (if possible)
Else, if it is another menu module, no problem!!

Thanks a lot for helping :D
@kabeza
Freelance Joomla/CodeIgniter Developer
Home: http://www.beza.com.ar

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by TomT » Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:01 pm

Well, I was convinced it was Daniels dtree template (http://de.siteof.de/extended-menu-templates.html), which I customised for this site. Including an extra Pat Template file, I will probably not be able to explain it.
The weird thing is however: I can't find the module in the Joomla admin. I can see the javascript and menu.html in my template folder. Daniel used the dtree.js form http://www.destroydrop.com/javascripts/tree/ and made an extra menu.js himself.
I'm still pretty sure I used Daniels menu template but have no idea how i incorporated it in the site. Sorry.

hallugen
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:13 pm

Extended Menu + Horizontal + Menu Icons

Post by hallugen » Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:23 pm

maddunr wrote:hmm.. ok. i will try that.

but i guess i will wait tonight to see if anyone can say why my menu icon is not appearing. in the exmenu module, i have the menu icons to show, and to show linked images only. but the text still appears, and the menu icon doesn't :(

i have tried assigning several different menu images... but none of them appeared. my best guess is that there is some problem with the way menu icons show.. and that this isn't an exmenu problem. i guess i will have to do more searching for that...

- V
Hey maddunr, did you ever figure out a way to fix this issue? I am having the same issue now.. have been reading for a while here but haven't quite found what I am looking for.

I am using: son-of-suckerfish-horizontal

Menu Style: Horizontal
Show Menu Icons: Left Aligned (Linked)

You can see what I have done here: http://dev.actorlinkup.com/

All I want to do is add an icon to the left of each menu item, but am unable to do it at all.. :( :o

quiquedcode
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:11 pm
Location: San Juan - Argentina
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by quiquedcode » Mon Jun 02, 2008 7:25 pm

TomT wrote:I'm still pretty sure I used Daniels menu template but have no idea how i incorporated it in the site. Sorry.
ouch ... :'(
Well, in case you find that pat file, the menu.html, .ini, and any other thing that can be useful, please post it (of course, if you can).
What is weird is that you don't have ex-menu module installed there... :eek:
@kabeza
Freelance Joomla/CodeIgniter Developer
Home: http://www.beza.com.ar

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by TomT » Mon Jun 02, 2008 7:35 pm

quiquedcode wrote: Well, in case you find that pat file, the menu.html, .ini, and any other thing that can be useful, please post it (of course, if you can).
What is weird is that you don't have ex-menu module installed there... :eek:
I've emailed the template to your hotmail account.

tia
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:04 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by tia » Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:11 pm

Hello

Try to make this:

http://de.siteof.de/extended-menu-templates.html#dtree

if you will have doubts, post here.

Tia

User avatar
kai920
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Extended Menu

Post by kai920 » Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:48 am

When I hover over the 2nd level, the 3rd level appears fine. But at the same time, why does my 2nd level disappear?

Which CSS can I use to make sure it doesn't "go away" when my mouse cursor is as pictured?
hover.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by TomT » Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:32 am

kai920 wrote:When I hover over the 2nd level, the 3rd level appears fine. But at the same time, why does my 2nd level disappear?
Which CSS can I use to make sure it doesn't "go away" when my mouse cursor is as pictured?
You have to look in your source code which id's and classes are involved (or use the FF webdeveloper extension). The sylesheet to edit is the one that came with the extended menu suckerfish template.

iamrobert
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 8:13 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by iamrobert » Tue Jun 24, 2008 1:36 pm

Hi,

I am trying to get a list to dynamically populate.

About Us
- 1
- 2
- 3

I don't want to go into the main menu, and make the links - it should do it automatically - make 1,2,3 etc.

So I have got it to work on my local server, with the following variables.

Source Type: Section
Source Value: value of section
Menu Type: CSS Tree

It adds the link A-Ok.

Now on the hosting server - if I click new article, it doesn't add the new link. http://www.icancervice.com/index.php?op ... Itemid=133

However, if I copy a previous article - it adds it ok.

Any ideas - am running it on dreamhost with a default installation (php 4.4.8).

Thanks,

Robert
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Web Design | Graphic Design | Taiwan
http://www.iamrobert.com

grisha
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: Extended Menu, menu.css

Post by grisha » Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:43 pm

The dtree looks and works good for me without reloading a page except ... I can' t use menu.css. It doesn't have any impact on menu appearance. I tried suffixes -dtree, _dtree, dtree, no luck. Could somebody help please?

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu, menu.css

Post by TomT » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:32 am

grisha wrote:The dtree looks and works good for me without reloading a page except ... I can' t use menu.css. It doesn't have any impact on menu appearance. I tried suffixes -dtree, _dtree, dtree, no luck. Could somebody help please?
Did you add a link to the menu.css to your template?

grisha
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by grisha » Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:08 pm

Forgot. Used to copy the content of menu.css to template_css but didn't do it this time. Shame on me.
Thanks!

hannahross
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:17 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by hannahross » Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:30 am

what is extended menu that you published?

User avatar
ashar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:55 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by ashar » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:30 am

I am having problem with the drop down menu in IE 7. When my menu drops down on an image in the article it hides behind the image. What could be the solution for this????

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by TomT » Fri Jul 04, 2008 10:55 am

ashar wrote:I am having problem with the drop down menu in IE 7. When my menu drops down on an image in the article it hides behind the image. What could be the solution for this????
Give the ul in which the menuitems are listed a higher z-index in the css file.

User avatar
ashar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:55 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by ashar » Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:09 am

Worked like a charm
Thanx Tom

agrolsy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:30 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by agrolsy » Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:38 am

Can anyone help with displaying menus with more than 3 levels? (same problem as the two persons below).

I have problem with that in my horizontal menu here, http://www.wrap.se/15 (for example Product - Introduction shows both level 3 and 4). It seems to be working on this page http://www.leithprimary.org/ (Information - General - Dates - Calendar), but I am not able to merge that solution with my css. If I try to use only that solution the submenus doesn't show up at all in Internet Explorer...

On Internet Explorer the third and forth sublevel seems to be floating in "mid air", impossible to reach. What value should I change in order to fix that?
midwestkel wrote:Has anyone solved this problem below? I am having the same issue.
revan wrote:Hello de,

I'm using extended menu, with the son-of-suckerfish vertical template, and I'm having some trouble with menus that have more than 3 depth levels.

Till 3rd level there is no problem, the subitems are only shown when mouse over but if theres a subitem that has 4th level items they are automatically shown when mouse is over 2nd level.

For better understanding, I'm including a picture showing what happens when the mouse is over the item signed by the dark arrow.

Notice that the subitems from "formação avançada" and "novidades formação" appear without passing the mousse over this options.

How can I fix this?

Best Regards

Image

grisha
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by grisha » Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:36 pm

Four dtree menus with different extended Menu Names, mainmenu, othermenu, etc, work well in Firefox, but in IE 6 all four show the mainmenu items . What is wrong?
Thanks.

User avatar
kai920
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Extended Menu

Post by kai920 » Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:26 pm

TomT wrote:
kai920 wrote:When I hover over the 2nd level, the 3rd level appears fine. But at the same time, why does my 2nd level disappear?
Which CSS can I use to make sure it doesn't "go away" when my mouse cursor is as pictured?
You have to look in your source code which id's and classes are involved (or use the FF webdeveloper extension). The sylesheet to edit is the one that came with the extended menu suckerfish template.
hello Tom,

I know which stylesheet to edit, but I can't figure out which CSS call is affecting that 2nd level. I do not want it to disappear when I hover over it. By the way, the live link is http://gdma.bluellipse.com (hover over Assets > Marine Assets)

User avatar
TomT
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1270
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:50 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Extended Menu

Post by TomT » Sat Jul 19, 2008 2:59 pm

kai920 wrote: I know which stylesheet to edit, but I can't figure out which CSS call is affecting that 2nd level. I do not want it to disappear when I hover over it. By the way, the live link is http://gdma.bluellipse.com (hover over Assets > Marine Assets)
Hi Kai, it ís very strange. The second level actualy does seem to disappear. There is a an empty element without a class or id. Maybe you have to try if changing parameters in the extended menu module helps. I'm sorry, but i don't know which parameter needs to be set differently. I hope someone else can help.

User avatar
kai920
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:59 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Extended Menu

Post by kai920 » Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:34 pm

Thank you Tom, I too hope someone might come across this and know where the CSS error is.

Chead1
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:28 pm

Re: Extended Menu

Post by Chead1 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:12 am

Hi guys,
I have what I hope is a simple formatting problem to fix in a split menu. My submenu displays correctly in Firefox, but not in IE7. Attached below are two images that illustrate what I am describing:

Firefox example (displays correctly)
Image

IE7 example (displays incorrectly)
Image
I don't see where I can correct this problem within the stylesheet:

Code: Select all

/*****************************
 ****       splitmenu     ****
 *****************************/

#nav {
	margin: 0 0 0 20px;
	padding: 0;
	height: 31px;
	overflow: hidden;
}

#nav ul {
	padding: 0;
	margin: 0;
	margin-left: 2px;
}

#nav li {
	margin: 0;
	padding: 0;
	float: left;
	display: block;
}

#nav a {
	text-decoration: none;
	cursor: pointer;
	font-weight: bold;
}

#nav li.on li.on a {
	text-decoration: underline;
}

#nav li a {
	display: block;
	float: left;
	height: 31px;
	line-height: 31px;
	padding: 0 15px;
}
	
ul.subemenu {
	padding: 0;
	margin: 0;
}

ul.submenu li {
	border: 0;
	margin: 0px;
	height: 20px;
	line-height: 15px;
	padding: 2px 0 0px 5px;
	/*background: url(../images/default/play.png) no-repeat;*/
	
}

ul.submenu ul li {
 
  background: none;
  font-size: 95%;
  padding: 4px 0 0 20px;
  background: url(../images/default/nav_arrow.gif) no-repeat 10px 7px;
}

ul.submenu ul ul li {
  padding: 4px 0 0 30px;
  background: url(../images/default/nav_line.gif) no-repeat 20px 7px;
  
}

/* module settings */

div.moduletable h3 {
	margin-top: 5px;
	margin-bottom: 30px;
	padding-bottom: 0;
}

div.moduletable {
	margin-bottom: 10px;
}

td.left div.moduletable,
td.right div.moduletable  {
	margin-bottom: 15px;
}

div.moduletable ul {
	margin: 5px 0;
	padding: 0 2em;
}

div.moduletable ul li {
	padding-bottom: 3px;
}

/* default menu link styles */
a.mainlevel {
	display: block;
}

a.sublevel {

}

a.mainlevel:hover {
	text-decoration: none;
}

a.sublevel:hover {
	text-decoration: none;
}

#inset a.mainlevel {
	display: inline;
	background: none;
	padding: 0 15px;
}


Here is the HTML:

Code: Select all

<div class="moduletable"><h3>About Us</h3>
<ul class="submenu">
<li class=""><a href="/content/view/83/90/">Future Plans</a></li>
<li class=""><a href="/content/category/5/25/60/"> Ministry Strategy</a></li>
<ul>
<li class="active_menu"><a href="/content/category/5/43/92/"> Transformational Min.</a></li>

<li class=""><a href="/content/category/5/42/93/">National Ministries</a></li>
</ul>
<li class=""><a href="/content/view/84/91/">Using God's Resources</a></li>
<li class=""><a href="/content/category/5/38/87/">U.S. Leadership</a></li>
<li class=""><a href="/content/category/5/29/86/">FAQ's</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
Your insight will be much appreciated.

Thank you,
Jeremy

 

Locked

Return to “Open Source Products for Joomla!”