What is BEEZ

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
a.radtke
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

What is BEEZ

Post by a.radtke » Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:54 am

Beez is an extended template for Joomla in which we have paid attention in the design to the standard conformables code, accessibility and flexibility.

With Joomla 1.5 we are able to store the HTML edition in our template so that it is no longer vital to use the standard edition. This gives us the flexibility we need to create accessible, standard conformable pages.
Beez is just an example to demonstrate the new path which Joomla 1.5 opens up to us. It serves as a basis and can be modified and extended as much as you wish.
In creating it we were careful to make sure that by suitably adjusting the CSS files and the index.php a large part of the total number of designs could be used.

So, what have we actually done?

1. Separation of content and layout: the code
The first step was to separate content and layout from each other and get rid of the layout tables which up to now have only been irritating.
Separating as much as possible the content from the various types of layout is the basis of every design which can be on the one hand presented as device-independent and on the other hand can be adjusted to suit the different needs of the user.
The technical basis for this is the fact that the overwhelming majority of browsers used today can handle stylesheets with relative reliability.

That was not always the case: But if you are still working with layout tables today, you are using an outdated technology which, in most cases, can no longer be justified and you should start relearning.

The use of stylesheets allows the content of a website to be coded with a mark-up language, without having to consider the style of the presentation.