Show/Hide Category/Section Descriptions in Template

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
tamaragwen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Show/Hide Category/Section Descriptions in Template

Post by tamaragwen » Thu Jun 05, 2008 5:41 am

Hello,

I made one site with the milky way template. I put descriptions in the sections and categories, and when I create a menu item link to a category list layout or a section list layout, the section/category description is displayed.

For another website, I'm using a different template. The category/section description text is not displayed.

Where/how do I go about setting it up so the category/section descriptions are displayed?

I've been searching around, and it seems like maybe 1.0 had a show/hide field for this, but I can't seem to find this in 1.5.

Thank you,
--gwen

thecutecat
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Show/Hide Category/Section Descriptions in Template

Post by thecutecat » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:31 am

I got the same problem. can anybody help Us??

Alextampa
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by Alextampa » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:04 pm

In your menu parameters

thecutecat
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by thecutecat » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:22 am

On "Parameters (Basic)" I see "Description Hide/Show"... But it make no change even if I had set it to "show".

I use "Category Blog Layout" as "Menu Item Type".

I start thingking that mod_mainmenu didn't fetch data of category/section description... :pop

Alextampa
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by Alextampa » Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:08 pm

More than likely you are doing something wrong.

cbdh19
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by cbdh19 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:30 pm