Speed Up Loading Time?

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
joope
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Speed Up Loading Time?

Post by joope » Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:05 pm

Hi,

Are there does anyone know of a way that I can speed up my website's loading time?

Thanks for the help!

joomla 1.5.7
virtuemart new release

Joyce Mar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: Speed Up Loading Time?

Post by Joyce Mar » Thu Oct 09, 2008 11:31 pm

Do you have a link to your website?

Usually the major culprit in slowing down a site is the template, followed by the other content you have.

joope
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by joope » Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:02 pm

The site name is www.peunandeve.com

Joyce Mar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by Joyce Mar » Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:57 am

As an indicator, I just had a look at how large your home page is:
Documents (1 file) 4 KB (59 KB uncompressed)
Images (59 files) 325 KB
Scripts (12 files) 847 KB (871 KB uncompressed)
Style Sheets (12 files) 157 KB (162 KB uncompressed)
Total 1333 KB (1417 KB uncompressed)
1.3 MB for the home page is huge, so it's not surprising that your website is loading slow. As a comparison, most of the websites that load relatively fast are within 200-300KB.

Your best bet in reducing the file size of your site is to compress images better (just a selection of the largest):
and scripts. There's one main script that is huge:

joope
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by joope » Sat Oct 18, 2008 7:42 pm

Compress my homepage?

What is it that I would need to use to make this happen?

Thanks

Joyce Mar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by Joyce Mar » Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:59 am

As I said, reduce the size of your images. Use an image editor to lower the file size as much as you can without reducing the quality.