title-element in menues

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
marvin06
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

title-element in menues

Post by marvin06 » Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:33 am

hi,

i am writing a accessible template. now everything is fine with joomla - with version 1.5 its much easier to create accessible website than ver. 1.0.

also the menue works fine and its possible to generate a list-menue. the problem I have is that I want to integrate the title-element in the menue-links. is there any possibility to do this?

thanks, marvin
emergency exit >>

simonlogan
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: title-element in menues

Post by simonlogan » Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:16 pm

You could probably do this using a template override for the menu. Just open up the mod_mainmenu code (assuming this is what you're using for your menu), save it to your template folder in the correct place (template/html/modules/mod_mainmenu) and look for the bit where you'd want the title tag to go. You'll need to find out the name of the variable for the tag to take its value from but this will presumably be the same as the text for the link so just copy the code for that and insert it into the title"titlecodehere" bit you have added in.

Hope that helps.
Simon Logan -
Principal Web Designer, Arcas Computing Ltd.

http://www.arcas.co.uk

marvin06
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by marvin06 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:27 pm

thanks for the input ...this is the way I tried to solve my little problem. Unfortunately I wasnt able to find the correct place.

are there any free templates in which this solution is used?

bye marvin
emergency exit >>

simonlogan
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by simonlogan » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:20 pm

Hi Marvin