Custom css class per category in section blog view

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
TheVille
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Custom css class per category in section blog view

Post by TheVille » Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:14 am

Hello

I need to create a blog view where entries that are in certain category have certain CSS class, ie:
if entry1 belongs to category "events" it would have css class "events". Entry2 belongs to category "News" and it would have class "news".

This is so I could "color code" different categories with CSS.

Page class suffix isn't working with me here, because all entries would have same class applied. I've also tried to search extensions for component or plugin that does this, but no luck.

I have faint idea that this could be achieved with template overrides but I have no idea how! I'm not an expert in PHP, rather CSS, but I think I could make it happen if someone lead me to right track.

Dan L
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Custom css class per category in section blog view

Post by Dan L » Tue Jun 02, 2009 2:20 pm

Yeah you're on the right track. Try creating a template override for the category output layout you want to use, then wrap the PHP-HTML in a DIV using something like this:

Code: Select all

<div class="category-<?php echo $this->category->id; ?>">
</div>
This will give you wrapper classes of "category-2", "category-3" etc, where the numerical value is equal to the category ID in the back-end, you can then style up the individual elements:

div.category-2 .contentheading {color:pink}
...and so on.

That should work...or at least give you some pointers :)
http://toolboxdigital.com - Front-end development for ExpressionEngine, WordPress & Joomla

TheVille
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by TheVille » Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:12 am