insert FLash (SWF) Movie

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
reelcompanies
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

insert FLash (SWF) Movie

Post by reelcompanies » Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:47 am

Hello,
I am very new to joomla. It has been about 1 week and I cannot seem to overcome this obstacle.
I want to insert a Flash swf that is 650x350 into the center - body -container.

How do i do it? The file is uploade into the server. Typically in the past I have been using the embed and object tag(s) to have the movie load and display. It has been in the lines of code that you point to the movie file using an absolute path.

Please, any input is appreciated. I guees I am not grasping the flow of this CMS just yet.

Thank YOU. :( :(

timdavies
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: insert FLash (SWF) Movie

Post by timdavies » Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:38 pm

i would use SWFObject 2.0 found here http://code.google.com/p/swfobject/wiki ... umentation

i would use the dynamic publishing method described half way down the page in above link. It uses java to display the flash inside a given html div.

hope that helps!

toonevdb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by toonevdb » Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:45 pm

If you tried to edit the html manualy, you'll notice that the standard Joomla editor changes object tags.
I tried to insert xhtml valid tags but they kept changing because of the editor and so I ended up using the simple button provided by Joomla's editor (tinymce). It's the movie icon next to the smiley. It asks you to point to your swf file and providing an absolute path should work.