Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
davisccs
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:48 pm

Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by davisccs » Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:55 pm

i just finish the installation of Joomla 1.5.1 version, but when i try upload new template and install it.. i got this issue... please help, urgently need to complete this website...
i was editing my configuration.php previously, anything wrong with that to cause this?
or i heard it is because of the file permission issue?

JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected

hope to get some help soon here... thanks.

asle
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:19 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by asle » Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:40 pm

I also get this message when trying to install the plg_prof3taacl ACL plugin. This is supposed to be 1.5 compatible. I am really confused as to what rights the folders should have. I now have set owner to "apache" on everything but I don`t know if that is wrong.

I also read about "legacy mode" but this is not an option on the "server" section in global configuration on my 1.5.1 installation. Under "Error reporting" there is not a checkbox for "legacy mode".

davisccs
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:48 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by davisccs » Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:33 pm

i did search around and saw some other people got this problem also, but i din see any clear solution for this issue...anybody can give a hand here?

nightlrd
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by nightlrd » Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:42 pm

asle-
Where do you fing the "plg_prof3taacl ACL plugin" that you mention? I'm in search of a good ACL for 1.5. Thanks

asle
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:19 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by asle » Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:31 pm

The extension I mentioned is here:
http://prof3ta.netsons.org/joomlaextens ... rol-plugin

ACL Discussions
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f ... &p=1198143
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... 94895.html
Clarifying ACL structure in Joomla:
http://help.joomla.org/content/view/476/153/

ACL extensions. Must be 1.5 ready since 1.5 has a very different structure:
http://extensions.joomla.org/index.php? ... &Itemid=35

Still I cannot find what I am looking for. I want i.ex.
user A -> only edit and create articles in category A
user B -> only edit and create articles in category B
etc...
Now a publisher can either publish or not.

Anyway I am most frustrated about all these "JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected..." errors and "cannot create file". I also cannot create folders in MEDIA, only folders inside already created folders.
JFolder::create: Path not in open_basedir paths - php.ini sets open_basedir to the whole webfolder but that does not work
>:(
Even doing chmod 777 on everything does not help.

dragontag
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:33 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by dragontag » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:39 am

me too,
i also got this messege when i try to install any component, what did i do wrong??
someone help plzzz..

i create my joomla site in localhost, after the site ready, i upload it to my domain.
i just restore the database in domain server and upload all the joomla files to new server, then edited configuration.php
the site seems working normally but when i try to install new component, i always got this messege JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected, registered user also can't login to the front end, what happen?
what should i do to solve this?

regards

hend

davisccs
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:48 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by davisccs » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:50 am

guys,

i gave up on this issue, but i solve it with uninstall the whole joomla CMS and install again... eventually it is ok now.
just make sure your ftp details is correct to let u able to install the ext.

i think i have screwed up the configuration.php when i edited it, i am not good in scripting... anyway my web CMS is working ok now...

User avatar
JoyMonkey
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by JoyMonkey » Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:58 pm

I had this same problem when running from localhost. I had moved my Joomla install from one drive to another, so it was an incorrect the Temp-folder location that was causing the problem (if set incorrectly, the file you upload has nowhere to be stored during the install).

If anyone else has this issue, I'd advise you to check your Path to Temp-folder and Path to Log folder in Global Configuration before trying any other fixes.

asle
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:19 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by asle » Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:23 pm

Thanks. I found that out before your post. I noticed my php.ini open_basedir setting was "/var/httpd/www" while Path to Temp-folder and Path to Log folder in Global Configuration was "var/html/www". Seems this was default. I fooled around alot with permissions and ownership before I saw the real errors in my apache error_log. So check this first. Yes and thanks :)

sarahfm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:01 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by sarahfm » Mon Apr 21, 2008 8:21 am

Hi Asle,

I have had this problem a week now - I have checked everything on all the posts I have read about and still nothing. Could you tell me exactly how you got this fixed.

Many thanks,
Sarah

asle
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:19 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by asle » Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:29 am

You have to check your joomla config file that all paths are correct according to your sites relative path on the server. And if you have access to your httpd.conf file you must check that there is no conflict between the open_base_dir settings there and in php.ini.

senvikal007
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 5:43 am

'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by senvikal007 » Wed May 28, 2008 6:04 am

Hi thanks!
I was getting same error message
Fatal Error: jfolder::infinite loop detected

I changed my Global Configuration Settings:
Path to Local Folder - log
Path to Temp Folder - tmp

Its Working for me..

Vikal Sen

marcusspritely
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:02 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by marcusspritely » Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:09 am

I used joomlapack to pack my site from one server in order to load on another hosting server location

I then had two problems
1) had to adjust memory allocation from 8 to 16 MB
2) ran into the "cant create jFolder" problem.

SOLVED - the global cponfiguration - server - Path to temp-folder section was using the /home/"ispservername"/public_html/mysite.com/tmp

the new hosting service used a different "/home/"ispservername"
once I changed that to the correct value - everythinig worked fine

Hope this helps
Marcus

sarahfm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:01 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by sarahfm » Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:40 pm

ok! After 2-3 months I have finally sorted this problem out!

It was the path to logs and path to tmp.

Before now, my cPanel wouldn't let me change this pathway to the values I wanted to put in for some reason so I thought that was because I was making a mistake.

Now I understand the file structure a bit more I realised exactly what the path was (and what I had wanted to put in earlier was correct but for some reason cPanel wasn't working). In the end I cut and pasted the contents of the configuration.php file into my own html editor and changed the values to what I thought and (/home/username/public_html/yakkaforbackpackers/logs and /home/username/public_html/yakkaforbackpackers/tmp). I then deleted the current configuration.php file and uploaded my own new one back in so I didn't have to do it in cPanel.

All working. It seems from the above posts that the problem is quite often the wrong path to logs and path to tmp.

:laugh:

simon_zehnder
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:09 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by simon_zehnder » Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:21 pm

my solution was all different:

in file libraries/joomla/filesystem/folder.php on line 452 i had to rename as folows:
$isDir = is_dir($dir); --> $isDir = is_dir($dir.'/' );

good luck to everyone!
Simon

User avatar
Plunk
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 8:03 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by Plunk » Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:28 pm

Thanks, thanks, thanks :D :D :D
Your answers solved my problem! :pop

My mistake was:

/home/domain_name/domains/domain_name.nl/public_html/logs
/home/domain_name/domains/domain_name.nl/public_html/temp


changed this in configuration.php into:

/home/my_name/domains/domain_name.nl/public_html/logs
/home/my_name/domains/domain_name.nl/public_html/temp

Now everything works again splendid!
Once I start asking questions, I usually find the answers myself.

Lokonopa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 2:43 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by Lokonopa » Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:53 pm

Hey guys,

Sorry to bump this thread, but I had this error recently on a new subdomain installation of Joomla 1.5.8. I did not install any components or modules yet, I only installed one template.

I noticed the "JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected" after saving Global Configurations for the first time (turning on SEO). I have a very large .htaccess file and a custom PHP.ini file.

Before tuning any other settings or trying any other tweaks, I renamed my HT and PHP.ini files to disable them. By disabling my PHP.ini file, the error stopped. Turns out I had safe_mode = On. I have no idea how it happened, as none of my other sites with the same ini file have safe_mode enabled.

After turning safe_mode = Off, the error went away. Hope this helps.

If you do not use a custom PHP.ini file and receive this error, create your own PHP.ini file (Bluehost, ICDSoft, and countless others allow a custom file) in your main root and administrator directories and add "safe_mode = Off". If that doesn't work, scroll up!

charbel89
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:14 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by charbel89 » Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:07 am

Hi,

I had the same problem here is my fix.

I think it is a bug in the Joomla code and although everyone' solution is different the root cause is probably the same.

Please see my thread below:

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f ... 5#p1504075

prestonascott
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:04 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by prestonascott » Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:20 am

Problem solved, and I think I know why this problem is so common... To find the path to my tmp directory, in the backend I clicked help -> system info -> php info, then i search the page for the letters "tmp".

I locate the following line:

open_basedir /var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs:/tmp

I then went to my global configuration, clicked on the server tab and entered the following line:

"/var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs:/tmp"

The error continued and i noticed when looking at the path which came from the php info file that it included a ":" right before "/tmp". I confirmed that path does not exist on my server but "/var/www/vhosts/mysite.com/httpdocs/tmp" does so i removed the ":", saved it, and tried to install a component again and it worked.

My point is, the path that you get out of the php info file may be slightly off so simply use your ftp client to browse through your sites directories to confirm that every character in that path is legitimate.

im not sure if this helps, but thats why I was getting that error.

avinasdwivedi
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:55 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by avinasdwivedi » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:33 am

hi friends
i some time ago ,i am also face this problem
when i upload my project local to server
solution is
change your log and tmp path in configration.php
linke
var $log_path = '/var/www/vhosts/cooneycenter.rfibox.com/httpdocs/beta/logs';
var $tmp_path = '/var/www/vhosts/cooneycenter.rfibox.com/httpdocs/beta/tmp';
where blod section is your project path!
good luck!

mdtopp
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 3:45 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by mdtopp » Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:32 am

Yep, the paths to tmp and logs were out in configuration.php. Thanks for the fix.

mirel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:56 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by mirel » Sun Feb 01, 2009 7:35 pm

I tried every possible path but it wouldn't work. And safe mode is off, I checked in Plesk. My configuration file is on the FTP ftp.matrozenkoor.nl and one of the rootmaps is httpdocs where joomla is in.
I tried stuff like "/httpdocs/logs" but also the path from joomla help: /var/www/vhosts/matrozenkoorapeldoorn.nl/httpdocs:/tmp. With or without the : or the / in front of the path.
I tried changing folder.php in libraries/joomla/filesystem/ as said by someone a few posts back. I don't know what to do anymore.

petermatra
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by petermatra » Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:41 pm

Before everyone goes nuts try changing the access security to you tmp folder that is in your joomla root directory. I then opened the config.php in notepad and changed the path of the tmp folder to a relative path---- "/tmp" Use notepad or another code editor sometimes joomla changes the path without you knowing.

ALSO don't use ftp program to change permissions, do it directly through Cpanel or what your host uses. FTP permission changes are sometimes ignored. Change the 'tmp' directory permision to 777 and try to install your addon/component. after make sure to change it back to 775 or 755...777 gives the public access which you don't want!
pete
Peter Matra
http://www.petermatra.com
[url]mailto://info@avenueCdesign.com[/url]

User avatar
twilite25
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: New Mexico

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by twilite25 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:26 pm

Can someone please take a look at my code and tell me whats not right because I am still getting the error, I'm using joomla 1.5.9, the files are writable, the plugins are compatible, safe mode is off:

Config php file:

var $log_path = '/var/www/vhost/mydomain.com/home/httpdocs/logs';
var $tmp_path = '/var/www/vhost/mydomain.com/home/httpdocs/tmp';

Open basedir: /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs:/tmp

Thank You!

petermatra
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by petermatra » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:12 pm

Is this your php.ini that sits in the joomla directory?
Peter
Peter Matra
http://www.petermatra.com
[url]mailto://info@avenueCdesign.com[/url]

User avatar
twilite25
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: New Mexico

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by twilite25 » Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:32 am

Yes, but I can only access it via ssh, and I'm not too sure how to do that. Do you know?

User avatar
twilite25
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: New Mexico

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by twilite25 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:31 am

Can anyone give me a step by step lesson on how to edit the php.ini file. I log into the server via ssh, I locate the php.ini file, and then I don't understand how to edit the path:

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs:/tmp

Do I just type it in the way I want it be without the semicolon like this?

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/tmp

Will this stop the JFolder::create: infinite loop detected warning?

Please someone help, I've tried several different options/tutorials/forums, this site is going live on Friday and I can't install the plugins or components that I need to finish it, Please Help :'(

MrKappa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:51 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by MrKappa » Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:00 pm

marcusspritely wrote:I used joomlapack to pack my site from one server in order to load on another hosting server location

I then had two problems
1) had to adjust memory allocation from 8 to 16 MB
2) ran into the "cant create jFolder" problem.

SOLVED - the global cponfiguration - server - Path to temp-folder section was using the /home/"ispservername"/public_html/mysite.com/tmp

the new hosting service used a different "/home/"ispservername"
once I changed that to the correct value - everythinig worked fine

Hope this helps
Marcus
THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!!
I'm so happy I got all the things back to work!! You're great guys!! :D :D :D

LexXx
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:56 am

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by LexXx » Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:00 am

I have same problem!
My Open basedir:/tmp:/var/tmp:/var/www/errors:/usr/share/php:/home/vol8/000space.com/space_3299400/htdocs

I don't know what is patch to temp folder!
PLS HELP!

jeremyh
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:13 pm

Re: Need help for 'JFolder::create: Infinite loop detected '

Post by jeremyh » Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:51 pm

I ran into the same problem. I am running a localhost off of XAMPP on a thumbdrive. It was the logs and tmp files but mine were configured for drive letter E: The thumbdrive is now drive I: When I looked at the Config file in Notepad++ I noticed it was still configured for E: Changed E to I and saved it and everything works.


Locked

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”