Page 1 of 1

Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:56 am
by kirman
Hi, guys... ;D

I'm a new member here. I have some problems with my web on the free web hosting. That is, when I install some component with the GUI (Graphic Interface User) in Joomla 1.5 tool, I get this messages :

Warning: file_put_contents() [function.file-put-contents]: SAFE MODE Restriction in effect. The script whose uid is 37492 is not allowed to access /www/zzl.org/k/i/r/kirman/htdocs/tmp/install_47bb83f9f3947 owned by uid 2001 in /www/zzl.org/k/i/r/kirman/htdocs/libraries/joomla/filesystem/file.php on line 298

Warning: file_put_contents(/www/zzl.org/k/i/r/kirman/htdocs/tmp/install_47bb83f9f3947/toolbar.easygb.php) [function.file-put-contents]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /www/zzl.org/k/i/r/kirman/htdocs/libraries/joomla/filesystem/file.php on line 298


Can any one help me, please..??

Thanks, before... ;D

[MOD note: manual signature removed]

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:42 pm
by vibby
Try to install your compenent another way :
-Upload it on the server using a ftp client (for example create a directoy "ToInstall" in your joomla directory and upload it inside)
-Intall it from the install interface, by telling the relative path in the last field (for example : ToInstall/mycomponent.zip)

Do u understand ?

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:31 pm
by kirman
-Intall it from the install interface, by telling the relative path in the last field (for example : ToInstall/mycomponent.zip)
Can you show me how to do that with image may be or be clearer? I didn't yet clear with your meant. ;D

Thanks,
Regards

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:25 pm
by vibby
First of all, do u have a ftp client (like filezilla) ? Do u jnow how to transfer files ? Do u know how to create folders ?
If yes, create a folder "toinstall" in your joomla folder, then upload the zip file of the component there.

Next, go to Joomla back-end, to the menu Extensions - Install/Uninstall. Here, you indicate the path to file you've just upload liek this : Image
(change the name of file)

It should work

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:57 pm
by kirman
Yups...
I know all about did you mean. And I have tried all of them. But they didnt success too. When I tried with your suggest, I get this message "Please enter a package directory".

I also tried in localhost. When I tried like your suggest, the result was same, I still cannot installed component or modul extensions. But when I install directly, by upload package file on Joomla GUI that was successfull, and didn't successfull on web hosting.

Thanks for all of your attentions.
Glad to discussions with you. ;D

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:11 pm
by vibby
this mean it coundn't find the file, so path must be wrong. Try some path definition like add the joomla base folder or "./" at the beginning.

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:23 am
by kirman
Thank you for all the atentions.

I tried your suggest. And the result was same, not only on server, but also on localhost. I think all of them is not right method, or may be the own Joomla 1.5 CMS is not stable on a server?

Are there any other method to install component by other simple way? Thanks, before.

Regards. ;D

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:49 pm
by crockford
kirman wrote: Are there any other method to install component by other simple way? Thanks, before.
I was having the same trouble but found that by installing from installing from URL (rather than from directory) worked.

By doing this there is no mistake about the path configuration.

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:17 am
by zerofirefox
The question remains open
Unable to write entry - problem has not been solved
My Denwer has no problem with any Joomla versions at all
But my host DOES

I still have not been able to install ANY components or modules or even templates
on Joomla 1.5X - Tried all

The error message is esentially the same for all
Line 298 in file.php

Warning: file_put_contents(/home/***/***.org/www/tmp/install_487efb8f9eab5/swmenufree.xml) [function.file-put-contents]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/***/***/www/libraries/joomla/filesystem/file.php on line 298

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:47 pm
by queseyo
Hi mate, do you try to unzip your file? I got this error a lot and it was because the real plugin file was inside the zip i was downloading from the plugins sites.

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:01 am
by Natasha111
crockford wrote:
kirman wrote: Are there any other method to install component by other simple way? Thanks, before.
I was having the same trouble but found that by installing from installing from URL (rather than from directory) worked.

By doing this there is no mistake about the path configuration.

I tried installing from URL and get the "Unable to write entry" as well. My question is, by entry, it means query at the database, or where?
I'm at a loss: i tried path, url, manual and thru the install module interface and nothing....
I know the file is not corrupted because I installed the same package in other joomla sites--- :eek:

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:23 pm
by JoomlaBased
Hello,

I have same problem I tried all ways but there is change. I can't install fabrik component and fckeditor 2.6.1 .

I tried

Package from File
Install from Directory
Install from URL

But there is no install.

I have errors like bellow when I want to Instal from URL:
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in libraries\joomla\filesystem\archive\zip.php on line 297
I have errors like bellow when I want to Instal from file:
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in libraries\joomla\filesystem\file.php on line 283
I have errors like bellow when I want to Instal from directory:
Please enter a package directory


How can I solve this problem ?

Thanks

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:46 am
by oriong
Hi
Try to turn off the php safe mode
hope it helps

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:28 pm
by code_ninja9
Ok this is an attempt to solves some issues surrounding

Unable to Wright entry problem for joomla 1.5-joomla 1.5.8
Not being able to install new coms/mods/plugins/

Note.) don’t test with virtumart…
For me I was in the middle of changing hosting from windows to more traditional hosting
So I moved the sit and everything was going fine until I moved the site to the root directory
Basically you have to see if the files are being uploaded to the tmp file …
The root of the evil is ***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****____ Plugins/system

Now I went to admin> system info> Directory Permissions> and saw that all was “Writable”
But not the case ….
You need to check what file permissions are on plugins/system then (chmod) you need to change it chmod to “777” AND MAKE SHURE IT CHANGED
Now when I did it using Filezilla, it told me that the permissions have changed but when I looked at them again they did not change so I went to my c panel on host.. and tried to chmod that way
Got errors or unable to chmod files….
(So then I got pissed off … thought madly ?.htacces? sefurl interference..???) but …
I broke down and contacted my host And said “how can I chmod the un-chmodable”
They took care of it… and I was able to chmod to my heart’s content
So if your host wont let you turn (php safe mode) off
chances are Plugins/system need chmod ing

hope helps

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:15 am
by mittalpatel
I was facing the same problem while installing VirtueMart on my localhost. Even after putting enough efforts I was getting the same error. So I decided to install it another way.

Downloaded VirtueMart Manual Installation package and then followed instructions of Read Me.txt. And it worked a charm for me. I could install it in a minute without any error/difficulty/problem.

You can try it out if you are facing the problem while installing VirtueMart.

:)

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:26 am
by danieljoseph
Unzip component/extension, zip just the files, not the folder. Try now.

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:35 pm
by ijokovic
Some plugins, components, especialy packs are zipped a bit odd, like
"/folder name/folder name/data" and it should be
in zip "data with install of plug comp, some folder" but without hiearchy of inside inside zip inside folder etc...

so repacking ziped files or puting them manual to lets say /tmp/plugin_name/ where all data is stored should work, and u should be able to install

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:34 pm
by sergiomusa
I Unzip component/extension, ziped again, not the folder. AND IT´S WORKING NOW!!! Thank you Daniel!!! :D :D :D

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:34 pm
by sergiomusa
please put it STIKY

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:44 pm
by jonmwaz
Make sure it's not an empty zip file.

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 4:43 pm
by Bystrzan
sergiomusa wrote:I Unzip component/extension, ziped again, not the folder. AND IT´S WORKING NOW!!! Thank you Daniel!!! :D :D :D
That is true- 1 minute ago i had the same problem with jomsocial but i unzip component and pack it again by *.tar - it is smaller package so install faster.


best for all Bystrzan

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:48 pm
by pi2sa
Hi. I was having the same problem.

If you've checked the permissions and the safe mode disabled, in my case the component had an error (could not be unzipped) so i downloaded it again. You can check it before trying to install it.

Hope it works. :)

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:05 pm
by hudaverdiyaman
I have same problem I tried all ways but there is change.

Re: Unable to write entry

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:03 pm
by elior
I give up.

How many hours can one spend on the most basic part - installation? This hasn't happened to me with other components, so I suppose I have to try these other - working - components.