Plugins with curly brackets not working

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
trollmann
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:00 pm

Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by trollmann » Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:18 pm

Hi all,

I have two separate installations of Joomla 1.5 on two different servers. On both installations I must have done someting wrong, because I can't get plugins that are activated by curly brackets to work. I've installed both the "RokZoom" plugin from my RocketTheme, and the "Simple Image Gallery Plugin". The first displays images in static html pages by using the syntax {rokzoom}image_url{/rokzoom}. And this text is exactly what is showing on my sites - not the image. It's the same with the second plugin. What shows on my site is the text "{gallery}image_dir{/gallery}" and not the actual image gallery that is supposed to show.

I'm fairly new to Joomla, so I'm probably missing something basic here. Any ideas will we greatly appreciated :-)

PS! Don't know if this is important or not, but I've activated the Legacy-plugin on both my installations to get older plugins to work. Plugins without the curly brackets activation seems to work fine...

If you need to see an example of the error, check http://www.vadahl.no/


Thanks for your time,
Thomas Vådahl

User avatar
brad
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13419
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:38 am
Location: Sydney - Australia
Contact:

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by brad » Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:28 pm

Have you checked to ensure the respective mambot is published?
Brad Baker
https://xyzulu.hosting
https://www.joomlatutorials.com <-- Joomla Help & Tutorials

joePIPed
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:40 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by joePIPed » Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:17 am

I just posted the same question today and I have the exact same problem. My mambots are published, still only the text shows up.

trollmann
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:00 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by trollmann » Mon Mar 03, 2008 6:13 am

brad wrote:Have you checked to ensure the respective mambot is published?
Yep. Both mambots are published. I've tried reinstalling both too, but that did not help...

trollmann
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:00 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by trollmann » Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:57 pm

I still haven't found a solution to this. Could it be a server-related problem? Would any special PHP-settings or Apache-settings have an impact on bracketed content?


-Thomas

HardWork
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:00 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by HardWork » Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:59 pm

What Rockettheme Template are you using? Try this syntax, which I copied and pated directly from the RocketTheme Template Demo Server and edited for my pics. This will create an album effect, but that should work, right. So just substitute the images with your images paying attention to the image path. Specifically, change "abka1" to whatever you want your album to be entitled. And make sure you have the path correct for your images:

{rokzoom album=|abka1|}images/stories/warehouse1.jpg{/rokzoom} {rokzoom album=|abka1|}images/stories/warehouse2.jpg{/rokzoom} {rokzoom album=|abka1|}images/stories/warehouse3.jpg{/rokzoom} {rokzoom album=|abka1|}images/stories/warehouse4.jpg{/rokzoom}

{rokzoom album=|abka1|}images/stories/granite_kitchen3.jpg{/rokzoom} {rokzoom album=|abka1|}images/stories/granite_kitchen4.jpg{/rokzoom} {rokzoom album=|abka1|}images/stories/granite_bar.jpg{/rokzoom}

Good Luck

davidToru79
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:59 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by davidToru79 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 5:19 pm

I have the same problem. For instance, if I insert {audio}musicfile.mp3{/audio} in HTML mode in the Article manager window, I get the same raw code, i.e {audio}musicfile.mp3{/audio} when I preview the content. For the information, I have enabled, in my case, 1pixelOut audio plugin.

joePIPed
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:40 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by joePIPed » Mon Apr 14, 2008 5:48 pm

I was having this problem a lot. I ended up re-installing Joomla and now it works.

risaksson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:46 am

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by risaksson » Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:47 pm

I have the same problem after migration a 1.0.13-site to 1.5.2. Det migration went well but now no "curly brackets" are recognized. Just the code shows in my modules and contents... Tried to reinstall Joomla 1.5.2 but it didn't help. I'm using the Populus template from Rockettheme, PHP 5 and a Apache server. No ideas?

davidToru79
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:59 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by davidToru79 » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:52 pm

I use Equinox from Rockettheme and I have the same problem as I stated earlier.

Naesstrom
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:39 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by Naesstrom » Fri May 09, 2008 10:03 pm

ok I'm having the same problem and I've been trying to fix this for the last 5hrs straight now and I'm getting more and more frustrated.

It's actually 4 different plugins:
Smoothgallery
Joomlaworks tab&slide
and Joomlaworks S.I.G

for example I have this page here that at the top I have a working one thats some lightbox plugin and it's working great...

but then we have:

Code: Select all

Exempel 2
{slide=Fotografier}
{gallery}galleri{/gallery}
{/slide}
{slide=Frukter}
{gallery}fruit{/gallery}
{/slide}
{slide=trycksaker}
{gallery}trycksaker{/gallery}
{/slide}

Exempel 3
{tab=Fotografier}
{gallery}galleri{/gallery}
{tab=Frukter}
{gallery}fruit{/gallery}
{tab=trycksaker}
{gallery}trycksaker{/gallery}
{/tabs}

Exempel 4
{gallery}galleri{/gallery}
I've tripplechecked everything and it "should" work... any suggestions what I might have missed!

icehavoc
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 1:04 am

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by icehavoc » Sat May 10, 2008 7:43 am

I'm new to this and had the same issue...finally realized after hours of pulling my hair out trying to get the denVideo extension working that the TinyMCE editor automatically makes a URL into a weblink as soon as you type it or paste it in. What I had to do to make it work exactly like the instructions said it would, was manually clear the link for the URL using the 'Unlink' button in the editor. Then the denVideo plugin worked exactly as it was supposed to.

Hope this keeps some hair on your head....wish someone had suggested this in just one of the other posts about this problem.

risaksson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:46 am

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by risaksson » Mon May 12, 2008 7:24 am

This might be an explanation...

When using i.e the plugins Jumi or Allvideos you call the plugin with {jumi [bla][bla]}. This code with curly brackets works fine in so called user-modules in Joomal 1.x. If you then migrate your site to 1.5, user-modules are converted to mod_custom modules that only "understands" html. In contents the curly brackets still works.

The problem with Joomlaworks Tabs & Slides is that the 1.x-version of the plugin doesn't work in Joomla 1.5, not even in legacy mode. There is an alternativ for Joomlaworks Tabs & Slides for 1.5: http://download.joomlaportal.ch/content/view/1105/1/

ssteiner
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:40 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by ssteiner » Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:42 pm

Has anyone figured out how to get jumi working with Rocket themes or which parts of Rocket need to be turned off to get jumi to work?

Has anyone contacted the Rocket people for a fix?

Thanks,

S

pkl123
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:53 am

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by pkl123 » Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:25 am

I am having the same problem, and not been able to fix it.

Using the html view in a couple of different editors, I enter the curly brackets code, but the curly brackets show as regular text both in the editor and on the page.

This is Joomla 1.5

Any ideas?

User avatar
MarHaj
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1168
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 5:24 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by MarHaj » Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:50 am

...curly brackets show as regular text both in the editor and on the page...
pkl123,
seeing curly brackets in the editor is normal (frontend plugins do not work there) seeing them on the page is worse.
Although it could mean the problem with the template (the objective of this thread) it can also mean the plugin is not enabled (published) in plugin administrator.
You can distinguish the cases by switching to another template.
If plugin works there then it is the template issue. If not it is the plugin issue - plugin does not work.

The result is???
(btw: what plugin do you have in mind?)
MarHaj

pkl123
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 3:53 am

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by pkl123 » Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:31 am

Thanks MarHaj,

I believe I found the problem, and it is a silly one. I used a Joomla 1.0 version of the plugin and didn't see the 1.5 version until now. (kl_rssfeed)

eric_rizzo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:10 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by eric_rizzo » Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:14 pm

I've faced this problem with a couple of different plugins. My client is using a custom template, and I've tried changing it to other (more simple) templates - doesn't help this problem.
I've also double-checked that I'm using the 1.5 versions of the plugins (Joomla is 1.5.14).

Any other suggestions for tracking down why curly brae code won't work? I'm pretty desperate because the client is asking me to do things in the site that pretty much require plugins to accomplish.

eric_rizzo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:10 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by eric_rizzo » Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:17 pm

I've discovered that if I put the plugin code in the "intro text" section of an article (above the <hr id="system-readmore" /> tag) then it works fine. But if it's after the tag, it's not triggering the plugin.
Any ideas why that may be, and how to work around it?
Thanks in advance.

sarrene
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 7:55 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by sarrene » Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:55 am

Hello. I have the same problem as everyone else here. However, it is not so much a plugin problem I think.

I had a lot of these working before I upgraded to 1.5.15. However now simple modules such as the default login does not work. (which it was working before I upgraded.

I have tried everything possible from reinstalling, to uninstalling all plugins and reinstall them again. No luck to get them to work with 1.5.15 for me.

Has anyone found a solution to this yet? It would be nice for sure.

Thank you in advance,
Sarrene'

mvaughan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:46 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by mvaughan » Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:59 pm

In the case of one plugin (Core Designs FAQ), I traced the error to not having enabled the jQuery library installed by a required companion plugin.

I had installed and enabled the companion plugin (Core Design Scriptegrator plugin) since it was stated as required, but selected "none" to the libraries to install, since I already have jQuery in my template (and was going to replace all the html formatting etc. for the FAQs anyway, since I'm only interested in it as a content manager for FAQs that also need to be translated through Joomfish - this FAQ manager, BTW, uses regular content items to store the FAQs, so they show up in Joomfish translation items automatically, plus it has access to the default WYSIWYG editors, version control, or anything else you might have installed for content items).

Well it turns out the FAQ plugin checked to see that the other plugin had actually installed jQuery, and refused to even load the content without it. Instead of still working, but having the javascript behaviors fail because a required library was missing (though they wouldn't have actually failed, since jQuery IS present), it just wouldn't load any content at all, without an error or warning or anything. (Kind of weak, but it's free I guess...)

But by putting php "echo" statemenets into various places in the plugin file (plugins/content/cdfaq.php) I was able to trace what sections of code it was executing and change the code so it would work (I commented out a "return false" in the appropriate place and it worked fine.)

SO... don't always assume that the plugin isn't loading. There's a good chance it's loading, but returning (false) before doing anything (for whatever reason, which you'll need to investigate), in which case Joomla just leaves the curly-brace text there.

username667
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:31 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by username667 » Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:38 pm

Has anyone managed to fix this problem yet? I know the post is quite old now but there was no 'fix' listed as such. I'm trying to use lightbox plugins for displaying images and I've tried 3 different ones and none of them work. The curly brackets (braces if you like) just don't seem to work, I get the text on the page and nothing else (like it's not executing).

Unfortunately I don't know enough about debugging PHP to figure out where I'm going wrong. Though if I do turn on the debugging in Joomla I get the same resulting information if the line with the curly brackets is there or not, which leads me to believe I'm missing something on my server.

Is there a Java prerequisite or a php prerequisite that I need to install on the server for Joomla to execute the code in the curly brackets? I'm running Ubuntu 10.04.1 and I installed the server last week, so whatever comes down as part of the apache and php installation of late is what I have.

I'm going around in circles and Googling the problem constantly shows up this one page. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22347
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by pe7er » Sun Oct 31, 2010 3:48 pm

username667 wrote:Has anyone managed to fix this problem yet? I know the post is quite old now but there was no 'fix' listed as such. I'm trying to use lightbox plugins for displaying images and I've tried 3 different ones and none of them work. The curly brackets (braces if you like) just don't seem to work, I get the text on the page and nothing else (like it's not executing).
Where did you use the curly brackets?
In a Module or in an Article?

Some content plugins (that are published) can replace the curly brackets with something else,
but it only works in Articles and not in Modules...
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

username667
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:31 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by username667 » Sun Oct 31, 2010 6:37 pm

Thanks for the reply, I ended up using a different extension as there are a lot of extensions (even non-commercial) on the Joomla site that don't appear execute with advanced features until you upgrade.

I was dealing with two plugins at the time (their names escape me but they were lightbox/image gallery ones). I ended up reverting back to the Shadowbox plugin that has all the advanced options out of the box (no pun intended). Once I was using a well known plugin that didn't want any money from me to work properly, then my curly brackets executed correctly.

Note: that isn't a dig at the some of the extensions costing money, I understand that a lot of development goes into some of the extensions available, but unfortunately some of them are outside my budget for this project (zero dollars).

Cheers

SimonWigzell
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:04 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by SimonWigzell » Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:23 pm

I was having the same problem, couldn't get any plugin that used curly brackets on say an image or folder of images to work. I would load the image as just a plain image and then I would copy what was inside that to my plugin code e.g.:

<img src="images/stories/myimage.jpg"> Works fine
{reflect}images/stories/myimage.jpg{/reflect} Doesn't work

Just through experimentation I found that the plugin will work if I do:
{reflect}stories/myimage.jpg{/reflect}

So the various image and gallery plugins I was trying are already using images as their default directory.

Would have been nice to know in the beginning. Maybe this is the same problem than other newbies are having. Hope this makes at least one person happy!

I can't believe I just wasted a whole day on this. I only figured it out because in desperation I thought maybe it only works in Inernet Explorer and not Firefox so I tried it there and low and behold I got red X - image not found - reflecting itself! Then it was simple to figure it out. Now if these plugins came with error messages that would have helped too.

Addendum: With Simple Image Gallery Extensions it is look directly in stories directory not the images directory so you just have to make sure your image folder is in /stories and then just use the straight folder name. So different plugins are hard wired to look in different places, though bound to be either /images or /stories.

User avatar
garibaldi77
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:10 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by garibaldi77 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:42 pm

I'm still having this problem with all plugins... and choice of template doesnt seem to matter the {} brackets are still not parsing in the front end.

Plugins are published
Joomla 1.5

Audio Sample

{audio}jinglebells.mp3{/audio}


In the editor comes across exactly the same in the front end.

help?

ferno
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 2:46 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by ferno » Thu May 26, 2011 3:01 pm

HI,

Sorry for high-jacking this thread but I have been searching for days for a issue I have with Jumi and cant seem to find the actual answer.

I have a PHP script that connects to a database and retrieves information stored in the database into a table.
This scripts works flawlessly in the joomla wrapper but th ejoomla wrapper does not scale the auto height correctly in ie9 (works fine in other browsers), a long search brought me to Jumi which seems to work perfectly (great plugin btw!) but the problem starts with a href link insight the PHP code.
This link submits some values to another PHP script (all is hosted on the joomla site but are standalone PHP scripts), some of the values after file.php?id=..... are filled in by the info retrieved from the db.

When the link is clicked it works fine but the page breaks out of the joomla context, when using the joomla wrapper the link works fine and stays within the joomla framework.


I am sure this has been answered before but until now I have only been able to find similar questions without an answer.

Hope you can help me out.

This is the link causing the problem:

Code: Select all

echo "<td valign=\"center\"> <a href=\"product.php?id=".$r['id']."\">".stripSlashes($r['brand'])." ".stripSlashes($r['type'])."</a></td>";

And what if I create a jumi app using the product.php, how can I use it in the href example above?

Your help is appreciated!

Ferno.

labwebdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by labwebdesign » Sat Aug 06, 2011 11:50 pm

Hi All, This same problem has been bugging me for a few days but I think I have solved it on my end anyway. Have a look when you posting your code into your page that your editor isnt adding <p> tags or other tags in front and at the end of your code. When I was adding in {FacileForms : CustomForm } the editor was automatically putting in <p>{ FacileForms : CustomForm }</p> which threw the code out. Change your view to html and make sure the code is clean with no extra tags at the front and the end. You can also go to Extensions > Plugins > Your Editor and check that Enter Mode or Shift Enter Mode is on BR Elements and not P Elements which adds on <p> tags whenever you save or press enter.

Hope this helps someone because I know how frustrating it was for me.

tomazf8
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 5:16 pm

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by tomazf8 » Mon May 07, 2012 5:20 pm

well, have the same problem. it must be a server thing because i just moved the page from server where the plugin is working to another server and there it is not working.

JackalCore
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:44 am

Re: Plugins with curly brackets not working

Post by JackalCore » Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:48 am

Hi guys, instead of adding the code to a custom html module. Create an article, toggle the editor, add the code there and then create a single article module to display the article. This solved my problem. :D Hope this helps.


Locked

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”