Extended Menu Auto Expand Sections/Categories [Solution]

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Patitas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Extended Menu Auto Expand Sections/Categories [Solution]

Post by Patitas » Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:28 pm

There is an issue regarding Joomla! 1.5 and the Extended Menu module. The code wasn't properly ported to Joomla! 1.5, so some functions may not work correctly. Extended Menu is a great module ans is the 1st that I install in every new Joomla! site that I'm building. Many features from it were added to the default Menu module in Joomla" 1.5, but the Extended Menu still offers other great tools.

It can be found here: http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... temid,35/
One that I discovered is that the Auto Expand Sections/Categories kind of menu doesn't auto populate the menu with links for each content from a given Section/Cetegory in Joomla! 1.5, but works well with Joomla! 1.0. Using this option, when you create a link to a Section or Category in the menu manager, the module auto creates link for all its contents in runtime, without filling the database with endless entries. The problem is that Joomla! changed the way it passes the variables that describe the view type, the content type and so.

The solution for this is altering some files from the module:

modules/mod_exmenu-j15/exmenu/loader/autoexpandedmenu.menuloader.class.php

Change lines 177 to 192 from:

Code: Select all

switch($menuNode->type) {
				case 'content_category':
				case 'content_blog_category':
				case 'content_archive_category':
					if ($contentItemVisible) {
						$this->categoryMenuNodeList[]	=& $menuNode;
					}
					break;
				case 'content_section':