Link authors to CB Profile - Not working since upgrade

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Krycek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Link authors to CB Profile - Not working since upgrade

Post by Krycek » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:01 am

Hello,

To avoid anyone telling me that Community Builder questions should be asked on Joomlapolis, my question is more related to J! 1.5.14 than to CB functions.

Current Platform : Joomla! 1.5.14 / CB 1.2.1 and coming up Kunena 1.5.

Aim : Link articles authors to their CB profile pages.

Possible solution : Use Zak Author 2 CB Plugin or CB Authorbot ver. 1.0.2

Problem : Upper mentionned plugins do not work anymore since I upgraded J! from 1.5.9 to 1.5.14. Actually it is known that from 1.5.10 it doesn't work. Symptom ? Instead of displaying a link to the author, the HTML link code is fully displayed and, thus, not effective.
Plugin doesn't work ? Solution should be to contact the author, but he's not responding and no plugin alternative is existing.

Now that I have some knowledge in PHP/xHTML, I'd like to correct this myself but need some help regarding J!. Focusing on Zak's one, for which code is easy.

Why doesn't it work ? It seems that HTML encapsulation used in J! 1.5.14 is thus replacing a simple HTML link by a full-text code.

Finding the bug :
FYI : plugin code and info at the end of this post.

In order to summarize, on line 60 of the code :

Code: Select all

$zak_link_txt ='<a href="index.php?option=com_comprofiler&task=userProfile&user='.$article->created_by.'"><span class="'.$this->_cssclass.'">'.$zak_created_by.'</span></a>';
Gives us in HTML source :

<span class="small">