Editor will not accept a word - it keeps stripping it back

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
springcricket
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 4:23 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Editor will not accept a word - it keeps stripping it back

Post by springcricket » Tue May 22, 2012 7:48 pm

I recently installed a joomla 2.5 site for a client and we have a strange problem - my client is a church and we can't write and save the word "communion" - it gets stripped back to "comm" every time - and it's just that word -very weird.

This is the same for titles, menus, content - "communion" isn't accepted! :eek:

I've tried tinymce editor off - still the same issue, so I have to make the change in phpadmin which is no good for the client...

I've tried adding new user -still same problem

Has anyone every had this problem? I'm stumped.

Emma

User avatar
kenmcd
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5672
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Editor will not accept a word - it keeps stripping it ba

Post by kenmcd » Thu May 24, 2012 2:44 am

.
Do you have some sort of anti-hacking plug-in activated?
It looks like it is removing "union" which is a MySQL query term which may be used in some exploits.

The code Joomla 2.5 text filters Black List does not include the word union.
So I do not think that could be the issue, but you should test that by disabling the filter for Super Admins.

.
██ LibreTraining

springcricket
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 4:23 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Editor will not accept a word - it keeps stripping it ba

Post by springcricket » Thu May 24, 2012 10:37 am

Eureka!

I had all the filters off, so that wasn't it - but then I went adn looked at plugins and found a plugin that my hosting had put in - something new called JHackGuard 1.7 - I disabled Filter SQL Commands and that fixed it. Will contact the developer about it.

Cheers for pointing me in the right direction.

User avatar
Beata
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1085
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:06 pm
Location: Lithuania

Re: Editor will not accept a word - it keeps stripping it ba

Post by Beata » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:45 am

Thank you, it helped me too.
The word "Union" should be in my website title


Locked

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”