Installing Aptana plugin in J!Code... There must be an easier way :)

torkil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Installing Aptana plugin in J!Code... There must be an easier way :)

Post by torkil » Tue Sep 25, 2007 6:43 am

Just read the dev blog post on the SoC projects for 2007, and decided to give JCode a go! Bear in mind I have never used Eclipse or EasyEclipse before, but by reading the forums I have gathered that JCode is a sort of EasyEclipse, so I made the assumption that I was running EasyEclipse.

The Aptana plugin seems to be a recommended addon by some Joomla programmers here on the forums, so I decided to give that a go as well, but installing it was a bit of a hassle. Here is a "log" of what I had to do in case some other unexperienced noob should try the same stunt. If someone knows an easier way or what I am doing wrong, please share.

I'm trying to follow the instructions on this page, which explains step by step how to use update.aptana.com as a remote site to install the Aptana plugin into JCode:
http://www.aptana.com/docs/index.php/Pl ... figuration

Connecting to the update site works fine, but when at the screen where I select features to install, I get an error when I click on Aptana, saying:
QuantumDB (3.0.3) requires plug-in "org.eclipse.jdt.ui"

Viewing error details gives me two error messages:
QuantumDB (3.0.3) requires plug-in "org.eclipse.jdt.ui"
Eclipse Tools (3.2.1) requires plug-in "org.eclipse.jdt.core"

From what I could gather from the documentation, this meant that I needed the Eclipse Java Development Tools which should contain both these plug-ins. This error is not a problem if you are running pure EasyEclipse, I have tested that too.