"SVN Repository Exploring" - not in my Eclipse installation - how do I connect?

Locked
firewoodtim
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:57 pm

"SVN Repository Exploring" - not in my Eclipse installation - how do I connect?

Post by firewoodtim » Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:29 pm

The procedure provided in the "Joomla Tools of the Trade" forum, for installing the IDE for Windows, ends with the sentence -
"When you are done, you will have a ‘SVN Repository Exploring’. You can use it to connect to your repository and do all the operations you need to."

I worked carefully through the entire procedure, including the installation of Subclipse, but when I checked for the "SVN Repository Exploring" function in Eclipse, I found nothing by that reference.  Just to be sure Subclipse was installed, I checked the Eclipse Product Configuration/Installation History and found that Subclipse 1.2.4 had been successfully installed.

In an attempt to figure out what was happening, I checked out the tigris.org site and looked up how to install the Subclipse plugin.  Their instructions call for the "repository url", which Subclipse can use to install the project.  I then looked up the SVN Repository in Joomla but, although I got to where I could download files, I could not figure out what specific URL Subclipse would need to do its job.

Can anyone help me figure out this last step in the installation of the Eclipse IDE/Joomla code system?  And why doesn't the "SVN Repository Exploring" feature show up?

firewoodtim
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:57 pm

Re: "SVN Repository Exploring" - not in my Eclipse installation - how do I connect?

Post by firewoodtim » Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:53 pm

Well, I think I'm figuring this out on my own. 
First of all, the IBM site has a clear explanation of how to set up SVN access for Subversion at:
http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/j ... index.html

Also, I finally found the "trunk" access link at the SVN page, but now I need a developer username/password, in order to install the url in Eclipse/Subclipse.  My regular Joomla username/password doesn't work.  Is there a developer registration page? 

phbol
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:37 pm

Re: "SVN Repository Exploring" - not in my Eclipse installation - how do I connect?

Post by phbol » Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:45 pm

Hello FirewoodTim,

Sorry to be late : I register myself yesterday and discover your post right now when looking after some SVN insights.

If you can open the subversion perspective, you need to create 3 new remote directory.

URL : http://joomlacode.org/svn/joomla/develo ... leases/1.0
Title : Last stable release of Joomla 1.0.x

URL : http://joomlacode.org/svn/joomla/development/trunk
Title : Last stable release of Joomla 1.5.x

URL : http://joomlacode.org/svn/joomla/testing/trunk
Title : Latest test units

After this step, you may checkout each one as a new PHP project. The user requested is simply "anonymous" without password. During the process, an assistant drive you to choose the name of your local project and its location. Remember : those projects are PHP projects.

After each checkout, close the project. You may be offended by the number of errors and warnings but they are meaningless at this stage.

Finally, you have three project available into your workspace. Then the job begin and this is my time to ask a question: how to checkin modification without mudering water ? This is probably the place where the Joomlacode login is requested but I m not sure right now...

Hope this can help.

Have a nice day,
Philippe Bollinne


Locked

Return to “Joombie Tools of the Trade”