Page 17 of 18

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:56 pm
by viper3two
Sorry about that previous post, I thought you meant under the user menu on the left, didn't even look on the right side at the top, but I see what you are talking about. I checked out my site and it has a 1px black line that runs all the way across the top...but no white lines under the menu choices. Mine is at http://www.tonylsharp.com if you want to look. Have you attempted to make your own logo or did anything with the graphics in the template? Seems that may be the problem, but I don't know for sure...I am not a Joomla expert at all, I am still learning it. Wonder if you could just re upload the graphic at the top banner from the original install package? That might do it......
Thanks
Tony

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:01 am
by Hepperz
I've tried removing and re-adding the template, but still the same issue.

Do I need to set anything special for the menu like a class suffix or something? I see that my text is possibly a bit bigger than on other peoples sites? My menu just has the default settings...

Cheers

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:10 am
by Silver007
I was so excited I almost forgot to vote. Beautiful template. :pop :D 8)

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Thu May 08, 2008 6:50 pm
by Mansour
very nice template

thank you libaizhuo

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 9:26 am
by awesome_3113
Quads wrote:
the_real_svempa wrote:You are quite certain nothing is published in, or otherwise affects, the user3 and user4 positions? Nothing can be there or something of the black top will remain.

Yes, I'll mail you my template.css as it is now, after the change.
I see the difference now between ours.
You removed line 98 through 106 which entirely removes that header / black area for the 'top' section.
There are a couple of other minor tweaks in yours (line 302 for the bottom bkg image)

I have it running now with yours in place which gets rid of the black area there.
Need to make a minor tweak for the logo height and I should be in business.
(link above)

Thank you very, very much! You have been a great help!
I have tried to remove the black box by removing those lines of code. However, the little corner of black still remains because of my search box in 'user4' (as on svempa's site). Is there a way to overcome this without moving/disabling the search box? I noticed that Quads' site has a search box and no black corner. Unfortunately I cannot provide a link as my site is only locally hosted at the minute.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Awesome.

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 9:41 am
by the_real_svempa
awesome,

There is a very simple reason for the "black corner". One of the graphics that make up the template, I think it is user4bg-l.jpg (in folder /images) corresponds to the part of the template where you see the "black corner", it is actually a part of this graphic. What you need to do is to use Paint or whatever tool you have to change the colour of the "corner" from shades of grey and black to the colour you want.

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:13 am
by awesome_3113
the_real_svempa wrote:awesome,

There is a very simple reason for the "black corner". One of the graphics that make up the template, I think it is user4bg-l.jpg (in folder /images) corresponds to the part of the template where you see the "black corner", it is actually a part of this graphic. What you need to do is to use Paint or whatever tool you have to change the colour of the "corner" from shades of grey and black to the colour you want.
Thanks so much!! That was exactly was I was looking for :D :D

For future reference, I modified user4bg-l.jpg in Photoshop to remove the black part of the image and saved it as a GIF file (since JPEG doesn't do transparency). This allowed for the template background to show through. I then modified the following code:

Code: Select all

#user4 {
position:absolute;
right:0;
top:-26px;
background:url(../images/user4bg-l.jpg) top left no-repeat;
padding-left:38px;
color:#000;
z-index:1000;
}
Simply changing the 'jpg' to 'gif'.

Oh and by the way I love the template ;D

Awesome.

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:32 am
by the_real_svempa
Awesome,

Nice work! I would appreciate if you would mail me a copy of the changed graphic, your method is more clever than the one I suggested and I am not at all familiar with Photoshop.

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Sat May 24, 2008 6:25 pm
by shshha
Perhaps can help me I want to put the jommla! logo on the Right, and (Extra Larg - Large-Normal) in the left and you template wonderful .. :-[

Regards
shshha

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 10:34 am
by awesome_3113
Hi Svempa,

I have attached the file for general use :D

Awesome

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 2:54 pm
by keystoneman
Hey guys,

I am using this template and I think it is so awesome. I'm really new to Joomla and just trying to learn so the site isn't live and I have it hidden behind my other website. Anyway, how can I get the re-size item in the top right corner of the demo to show on my site?

http://www.lititzweb.com/joomla

As you can see there is no real content on my site right now and I haven't gone far into customizing it. Hopefully I get there soon!

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 3:36 pm
by the_real_svempa
keystoneman,

Yes, this template is great! I have it as the default template at my site http://www.energiminnesfonden.se and as an option at another site http://www.bankel.se .

And it comes with a few but important configuration parameters. One is "Show Style Switchers". Do you have it set to "yes"?

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 4:37 pm
by keystoneman
You have been most helpful, friend. Thank you for your time and fast response. :)

Regards,
Keystoneman

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:17 pm
by keystoneman
Good afternoon,

Can anyone reccomend a template for either a phpBB or SMF message board that will match or flow with this Joomla template?

Your input will be valued. I've been looking around but can't seem to find anything nice!

Regards,
Keystoneman

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:03 pm
by the_real_svempa
Hi Keystoneman,

Go to http://www.energiminnesfonden.se , click on "Forum" in the Main Menu. You will see the JFusion-integrated phpBB version 3.0.1 using the standard template pop up in a wrapper. I think it matches the blue version of our favourite Joomla! template very well.

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:49 pm
by keystoneman
Thanks again, sir!

Take care,
Keystoneman

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:09 pm
by cyclope31
Hi all,

I'm having an issue with the Aphelion template.
My user login form in the left menu is displayed but inactive. I can neither enter a value in the form nor click on the "Lost password" or "Lost login" links.
Problem occurs with IE6 but not with FireFox. However, in IE6, I can make it work if I do a refresh.
Regarding layout, Float or Fixed mode doesn't have an impact.
Just in case you would like to test : http://www.6dof.com/

I would be very grateful if someone could help me resolving this.

Best regards

Cyclope31

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:02 am
by the_real_svempa
Seems to be absolutely no problem with the login form, whichever browser I use.

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:37 am
by ichtusdesign
dear redeveo, your template is one of the best minimalistic template i've found in related joomla forums. however, i would like to ask you about your tips to change the logo. since i am new to joomla. i have tried to upload the re-designed logo to the folder, but the remark shows me that the file could not be overwritten (it's like protected). it's highly appreciated if you could assist me in this problem.
warmest regards and bravo to RedEvo!

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:24 am
by cyclope31
Thanks the_real_svempa for your feedback.
This is really strange indeed.
Actually, I have checked the problem occurs on all sites using the RedEvo Amphelion template. Not only mine.
So is the problem specific to my IE6 installation? That's the question. I will check from another computer...
regards,

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:02 am
by the_real_svempa
The problem certainly has something to do with your IE6 installation. I have no computer available with IE6, they are all converted to IE7 so I cannot make any tests. But you could try my site http://www.energiminnesfonden.se , it does not use the standard login module but the JFusion one. This way we can see if there are more factors involved.

Do you have other problems with IE6? Can you login at other Joomla non-Aphelion sites using IE6?

edit: Do you have the Content Advisor turned on? In that case you might try turning it off.

edit2: And perhaps this is of interest: http://www.unleash.com/blog/2008/04/for ... r-dont.asp . Seems to be a more general problem according to this article.

edit3: From your data I suspect the problem is due to caching, either in Joomla! or more probably in the browser. The login form is then generated using the cache, and this could perhaps cause the error. Try turning the cache off, and perhaps you could find somebody using IE6 that has never visited your site before. If the login form works under these circumstances it is a kind of proof that IE6 is doing something stupid with the cached data :-)!

Anyway IE6 is a bad, bad browser that nobody in his/her right mind should be using!

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:00 pm
by cyclope31
Here is the outcome of my tests:
But you could try my site http://www.energiminnesfonden.se , it does not use the standard login module but the JFusion one
Yes. Same behavior on your site. Sorry. I have also tested from another computer with IE6 and same again.
So definitely, you should be able to reproduce the error just follow those steps:
1: Go to your home page (check you can insert text in the login form)
2: Click on FAQ menu item
3: Go back to home page by clicking on your "Aktuellt" link.
4: Check that you can not insert text anymore in the login form nor click on the "forgot your password" link.
Do you have other problems with IE6? Can you login at other Joomla non-Aphelion sites using IE6?
This is the only strange behavior I have noticed actually. I have tested the point with other non-Aphelion site having a login form in the main menu and problem did not occur.
edit: Do you have the Content Advisor turned on? In that case you might try turning it off
I have it off.
edit2: And perhaps this is of interest: http://www.unleash.com/blog/2008/04/for ... r-dont.asp . Seems to be a more general problem according to this article
Yes. Seems to be the same issue raised here. Workaround consisting in using TAB key works indeed. But my visitors will for sure never think about it. So it is more or less useless.
edit3: From your data I suspect the problem is due to caching, either in Joomla! or more probably in the browser
Caching is Off in Joomla. I don't know how to turn it off in IE6 but anyway from the visitor stand point, even if it is the cause of the problem it remains an issue because people will not understand what happens.

Thanks again for your help and time.
Just hope you'll be able to state by yourself the issue.


Regards,

Is Aphelion compatible with banner module?

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:14 pm
by cyclope31
Hi all,

It seems that Aphelion template doesn't display the banner module by default.
Is it a known issue? Does somebody know how to work around this?

Best regards,

Cyclope

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:46 pm
by the_real_svempa
cyclope31,

I'm a little over my depth here, but you could try to add this code to your template html:

<?php
if (preg_match('/MSIE 6/i', $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']))
{
header('HTTP/1.x 201 Created');
header('Pragma: no-cache');
header('Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate');
header('Cache-Control: post-check=0, pre-check=0', FALSE);
header('Last-Modified: '.gmdate('D, d M Y H:i:s').' GMT');
header('Expires: -1');
}
?>

Might do it for you, since you seem determined that even IE6 users should have access to your website.

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:55 pm
by the_real_svempa
cyclope31,

Banners are normally displayed in the banner position which is not used in Aphelion. If you want to include it you could possibly put it in where you find this code:

<jdoc:include type="modules" name="syndicate" />

Try adding this code:

<?php if($this->countModules('banner')) : ?>
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="banner" style="xhtml" />
<?php endif; ?>

Or else you could simply try displaying the banner module in the footer position, or in any other position you prefer. Just change the position in the module list. If you have more than one advertisement for the same banner module to show remember to set the count in the banner module accordingly.

(edited because I was all wrong to start with, have made a few tests now)

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:35 pm
by cyclope31
Hi real_svempa!

I have tested both solutions for banners. Both works perfectly.
My preference (from purely cosmetic stand point) goes however to the hack option where I have put your code in the middle section on top of all articles.

BTW, sorry for my lack of reactivity, I was swamped with my (real) job.

Best regards,

Cyclope

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:36 am
by sandhie
Hi guys,

I think this template is great. I'm using this template for my website with a little modification:
http://hotlingerie-store.com/

Feel free to ask me about the modification in my website.

The very important thing is: I wanna say many thanks to Red Evolution, they make may website looks great with no cost!

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:42 am
by gugaa
Hi!
It's a nice template!
but I'm having a problem...
Everything was working fine, but suddenly the search bar gray container stopped loading correctly.
I have no idea what is happening!
I saw people with the same problem, but I didn't find any solutions.
Could you help me?

Thanks

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:41 am
by ipn0r0spo
Is it possible to add the debug section? If so how do you do it?

Re: Template Contest Entry - [RedEvo_Aphelion] v1.1.0.7!!

Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:30 am
by sandhie
the search bar gray container stopped loading correctly
I still don't get it, do you have a screen shot of this?
Coz i don't think i have that kind of problem.