Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

This forum is for the Joomla! 1.5 template contest, where people can post their templates.
Locked
User avatar
jk1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:53 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by jk1 » Sat Feb 23, 2008 8:20 pm

doengs wrote:change the width to 100%
Perfect! :D

Just noticed another small problem with the "Khaki" color scheme which I've choosen. The brown background in the breadcrumb module hides the actual directory name because the typography color appears to be the same brown. Could you please let me know where the color setting for the breadcrumbs is located?

Next thing I'm trying to figure out is how to center the header image in the Top module and add a repeating background image so the header image appears to be fluid.

BTW - yesterday I tried to locate the searchbox in the breadcrumb module, which didn't work. Is it possible that this is due to different names? In the search parameter settings I can choose the position "breadcrumb" but after hitting the "Apply" button, the order selection shows "breadcrumbs" (with ...s).

Best Regards

JK

User avatar
jk1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:53 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by jk1 » Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:34 pm

jk1 wrote: Just noticed another small problem with the "Khaki" color scheme which I've choosen. The brown background in the breadcrumb module hides the actual directory name because the typography color appears to be the same brown. Could you please let me know where the color setting for the breadcrumbs is located?
JK
Hi again

I think I fixed this problem myself (3 hours later). In "template.css" I adjusted line 222 from

Code: Select all

.pathway, .pathway a:hover {
	color:#333;}
to

Code: Select all

.pathway, .pathway a:hover {
	color:#eeee10;}
Let me know if this was a wrong idea - however, it seems to work ;)

JK
Last edited by jk1 on Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:40 pm

jk1 wrote:
jk1 wrote: Let me know if this was a wrong idea - however, it seems to work ;)
correct ;) i just about to reply to you.

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:42 pm

jk1 wrote:
jk1 wrote: Let me know if this was a wrong idea - however, it seems to work ;)
it's already answered before actually in page #7

User avatar
jk1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:53 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by jk1 » Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:12 pm

doengs wrote: it's already answered before actually in page #7
Sorry for taking your time - I missed the solution on page #7 (and wasted 3 hours trying to figure it out myself) :-[

JK ;D

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:40 pm

jk1 wrote: Next thing I'm trying to figure out is how to center the header image in the Top module and add a repeating background image so the header image appears to be fluid.
repeating background if you use khaki, see khaki.css #18

Code: Select all

#jv-header { 
	background:url(../images/khaki/jv-k-logo.gif) 0 0 no-repeat; }
change it to

Code: Select all

#jv-header { 
	background:url(../images/khaki/jv-k-logo.gif); }
if you want to add a center header image above the repeating background:
- on template.css # 23

Code: Select all

#jv-banner {
width: 470px; float:right; padding-top:15px;}
change it to

Code: Select all

#jv-banner {
	text-align:center; padding-top:15px;}
- then create new module for the image and position it on banner

Cheers

User avatar
jk1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:53 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by jk1 » Sun Feb 24, 2008 9:08 pm

Hi again,

I did follow your suggestions. Works fine :D Many thanks for your help! Screeshot of the result is attached.

The design is not yet perfect, but I will do the finetuning later. Its only the first step in converting my currently static gallery website (with 1000+ art prints and descriptions) to a Joomla powered site...probably several months of work.

Best Regards
JK
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:02 pm

Its only the first step in converting my currently static gallery website (with 1000+ art prints and descriptions) to a Joomla powered site...probably several months of work
woww! good luck ;)

John37309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by John37309 » Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:35 am

What file would i edit to change the distance marked "X" in the picture?

Image
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com

User avatar
jk1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:53 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by jk1 » Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:28 am

John37309 wrote:What file would i edit to change the distance marked "X" in the picture?
Hi,
You will find the settings in the file "template.css". You can edit it in Joomal by clicking Extensions -Template Manager - Javanya - Edit CSS - Select 'Template CSS'. Look for the following around line 47:

Code: Select all

#jv-left {
	width:182px;  overflow:hidden;}
After changing this value you will have to adjust the jv-contentnarrow and jv-contenthalf values, which are just above that line, too.

JK

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:55 am

yep! thanks jk1 :)

User avatar
adje
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by adje » Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:37 pm

doengs wrote:
adje wrote:hi Judith,
as you know I am using your excellent template in the aNovo website.
However, since I updated Joomla to 1.5.1. the template is jumping from left to right and vice versa when choosing other menu items. I noticed this both in Safari and FF.
This gives a very unquiet picture. With JA-purity and milkyway this does not occur. Beez shows the same problem. Test it by means of the template chooser (http://www.anovo.nl)
Do you have a solution? I sincerely hope so because I do not wish to change to another template
best wishes
Adrian
Hi Adrian,
i think i already fixed this before because i don't see any changes on 1.5.1 and javanya 1.08.
download javanya 1.08

Cheers,
Yudith
good morning Yudith
thanks for your reply.
I 've downloaded javanya 1.08 but (unfortunately) this did not solve my problem.
It is very strange that on my site (anovo.nl) jumping (from left to right and vice versa when choosing an other menu item) occurs with javanya, 68portal and beez and not with ja-purity or rhuk-milkyway or bizuniverse.
A complete mystery.
When I reduce my window then there is no 'jumping' !
I hope you can help
Thanks in advance
Adrian

User avatar
jk1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:53 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by jk1 » Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:45 pm

adje wrote:A complete mystery.Adrian
Hi Adrian,

I just had a look on your site following your link. It appears that the content jumps only when you klick "FAQ" and "Web Links" in the menu, while all other links don't have this effect and keep the 'normal' width. This happens because in Firefox the scrollbar disappears if there is nothing to scroll, in Internet Explorer it is always present.

The FAQ and Web LInks pages are shorter than the other ones and don't show the browser's scrollbar on the right side. A simple stupid solution would be just to place something further down on these two pages so that the scrollbar shows up there, too.

I have no idea how to adjust the template code to prevent this (I'm a css novice myself) but I'm pretty shure there is a way to force the FF scrollbar to show up permanently.

Regards

JK
Last edited by jk1 on Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

John37309
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by John37309 » Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:51 pm

jk1 wrote:
John37309 wrote:What file would i edit to change the distance marked "X" in the picture?
Hi,
You will find the settings in the file "template.css". You can edit it in Joomal by clicking Extensions -Template Manager - Javanya - Edit CSS - Select 'Template CSS'. Look for the following around line 47:

Code: Select all

#jv-left {
	width:182px;  overflow:hidden;}
After changing this value you will have to adjust the jv-contentnarrow and jv-contenthalf values, which are just above that line, too.

JK
JK1,
Thank you for your help, that worked well!

Doengs,
A special thank you goes to you also for a beautiful template.

Thanks for your hard work on this template!

John.
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Tue Feb 26, 2008 4:18 am

:)

User avatar
adje
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by adje » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:13 pm

jk1 wrote:
adje wrote:A complete mystery.Adrian

I just had a look on your site following your link. It appears that the content jumps only when you klick "FAQ" and "Web Links" in the menu, while all other links don't have this effect and keep the 'normal' width. This happens because in Firefox the scrollbar disappears if there is nothing to scroll, in Internet Explorer it is always present.

The FAQ and Web LInks pages are shorter than the other ones and don't show the browser's scrollbar on the right side. A simple stupid solution would be just to place something further down on these two pages so that the scrollbar shows up there, too.

I have no idea how to adjust the template code to prevent this (I'm a css novice myself) but I'm pretty shure there is a way to force the FF scrollbar to show up permanently.

Regards

JK
hi JK: it's indeed the scrollbar. I've added somewhat more blank space and the scrollbar appears: no jumping anymore. Thanks a lot.
Thereafter I had a look at template.css and changed the layout: #jv-main, instead of height 100% I've put a value of 500px resulting in a scroll bar everytime. Problem solved.
Perhaps could Yudith find the time to give her view on my solution. I am (like you) a css novice but I am using trial and error and sometimes it works.
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Adrian

User avatar
Joscarfas
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:56 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by Joscarfas » Fri Mar 07, 2008 1:41 pm

How do I make the logo clickable?

User avatar
adje
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:18 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by adje » Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:48 pm

hi javanya adepts,
I have a question. When you have a reference to a component in the menu (e.g. fireboard, phpgedview) you normally get, after clicking on it, the fireboard forum or the phpgedview genealogy in the main part and the menu on the left (or on the right depending on which layout you have chosen). Sometimes one would wish to have more room for that component. My question is would it be possible to omit the menu so that the full width becomes available for that component.
In the index.php file there should be something like:
"if component com_phpgedview or com_fireboard then the left (or right) menu should disappear".
In joomla 1.0.x this was possible by including

<div id="left_outer"><?php if (($option != "com_phpgedview") and ($option != "com_mambowiki")) { ?>
<div id="left_inner">
<?php mosLoadModules ( 'left', -2 ); ?>
</div>

but i do'nt know how this should be achieved in J!1.5.1
I would love if someone has a solution or a suggestion.
Adrian

LikeStuff
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 786
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:06 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by LikeStuff » Sun Mar 16, 2008 4:05 pm

Hi,

I have been trying to get the columns to extend to the lenght of the body. I've tried using 100% as per below, but that's no good. Any idea how I can get this to work. Thanks!

#jv-right {
width:240px; overflow:hidden; background: #1d6087; border-bottom: 2px solid #ffffff; height: 100%;}

rdbranson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:11 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by rdbranson » Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:12 pm

Hello,
Can somebody tell me how to change the background color for articles. Javanya sets the bg for the whole page, which is what I want. The main articles picks up a different background color (I don't know how) and articles below do not.

Is there a way to change article background colors without having to go directly into Joomla code?

Thank you.

RDB

User avatar
newart
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Solar system - Earth - European Union

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by newart » Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:44 pm

@adje

here is an example of conversion in 1.5 format,
<?php mosLoadModules('left', -2); ?>
is now:
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="left" style="xhtml" />
former Q&T WorkGroup Joomla member - Italian Translation Team Member

rdbranson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:11 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by rdbranson » Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:35 am

As I have been trying to learn this more, I am having a further problem with bg colors for the columns and their widths. If I change the bg color, it shows up as being wider than the title boxes.

Is it necessary to set up a table and how should that be done?

Any help is much appreciated.

RDB

mathialoc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:20 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by mathialoc » Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:33 pm

scwebguy wrote:I was just playing around with the template some more and came across the missing breadcrumbs problem in IE7. I see that hitting "CTL -" does make them reappear but I don't think I want my web visitors to have to do that. I also tried removing the RSS feed module and that didn't help.

I'm very new to Joomla, CSS, etc, so this might be a dumb question, but is there an easy way to change the font size just for the breadcrumbs in whatever template or module file controls that? Seems like if there was a way to make the breadcrumb text smaller globally that would solve this issue.

*** EDIT ***

Correction, I solved my own problem. Let me post it here for any other noob like me:

You need to go into the HTML file and remove this line (its just under the "breadcrumbs" line):



That did the trick... breadcrumbs are back in IE7! And this is fine for me since I don't plan to syndicate my feed.
I'm trying to fix breadcrumbs in IE7 with this template and saw this post however I'm not sure what line of code or html file its refering to? I'm also having a problem when a user clicks a link in the left menu to go to a new article or contacts then the content moves _under_ the left menu/column.

Both these problems only happen in IE7 NOT firefox. Any work arounds for these?

mathialoc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:20 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by mathialoc » Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:55 pm

I figured the bread crumb problem out you just have to remove the following line of code from index.php

Code: Select all

<div id="jv-feed"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="syndicate" /> </div> 
Hopefully you don't need syndication.
Last edited by mathialoc on Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mathialoc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:20 pm

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by mathialoc » Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:58 pm

I also stumbled on the other fix which probably won't effect anybody else. I removed the right column to change the template to a two column one. I had to change/add this bit of code to index.php after removing the right column code.

Code: Select all

<?php
//edit:  modifying template to remove right column
//if($this->countModules('left and right') == 0) $contentwidth = "full";
//if($this->countModules('left or right') == 1) $contentwidth = "half";
//if($this->countModules('left and right') == 1) $contentwidth = "narrow";
$contentwidth = "half";
?>

oscar615
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:24 pm
Location: Bailey,CO, uSA

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by oscar615 » Wed May 07, 2008 10:06 pm

Where can you download the template?

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Wed May 07, 2008 10:59 pm

Download javanya v.1.0.8 here

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Wed May 07, 2008 11:07 pm

mathialoc wrote:I figured the bread crumb problem out you just have to remove the following line of code from index.php

Code: Select all

<div id="jv-feed"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="syndicate" /> </div> 
Hopefully you don't need syndication.
You can still have the syndication by changing to other module position. e.g: left/right

User avatar
newart
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Solar system - Earth - European Union

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by newart » Thu May 08, 2008 9:16 am

doengs wrote:Download javanya v.1.0.8 here
happy to hear news from you! What's your next projects on joomla?
former Q&T WorkGroup Joomla member - Italian Translation Team Member

User avatar
doengs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 12:33 am

Re: Template Contest Entry - [javanya] updated

Post by doengs » Fri May 09, 2008 6:20 am

still around templates for sure :-)


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.5 Template Contest”