Firefox refresh different from Chrome Topic is solved

Relax and enjoy The Lounge. For all Non-Joomla! topics or ones that don't fit anywhere else. Normal forum rules apply.
Post Reply
User avatar
JurajB
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:28 pm

Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by JurajB » Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:34 am

Hello!
My firefox doenst refresh whole page info when i click f5 or I hit navigation to refresh the content.
Chrome is fine with this.
Once again, when I make change to my content, simple hitting f5 doesnt work. I must hit ctrl+f5.
Any guidance?
Last edited by toivo on Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved, not related to 3.x Performance - retitled
https://gurutesting.tech - For cooperative testing, learn Joomla!, explore JoomlaExtesnsionsDirectory (JED), fun and friends Joomlers! write here.
testers@gurutesting.tech

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39126
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by Webdongle » Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:44 pm

Yes. Keep using CTRL+F5 when viewing changes in ff.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

User avatar
JurajB
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by JurajB » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:53 am

But what about my visitors? :)
https://gurutesting.tech - For cooperative testing, learn Joomla!, explore JoomlaExtesnsionsDirectory (JED), fun and friends Joomlers! write here.
testers@gurutesting.tech

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39126
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by Webdongle » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:47 am

Nothing you can do about their browser cache. It' usually only cached images that browsers don't show changes and that can be fixed by not using the same name if you change the image. If it's text on the page it will usually show the change when the browser is reopened after being colsed down. So your visitors should see the change on their next visit.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9698
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by sozzled » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:15 pm

JurajB wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:34 am
My firefox doesn't refresh whole page info when I click f5 or I hit navigation to refresh the content.
Chrome is fine with this.
Once again, when I make change to my content, simple hitting f5 doesnt work. I must hit ctrl+f5.
Any guidance?
Do you want to fix this problem? See https://refreshyourcache.com/en/cache/

Let's be clear: this isn't a problem with Firefox. The problem is caused by the way that you've cached the website content.

Let's also understand that there's a difference between a "soft: refresh (i.e. F5) and a "hard" (or forced) refresh (i.e CTRL-F5). See the following table that explains how soft vs. hard browser refreshing is done differently depending on which web browser you use (for example, https://www.wikihow.com/Refresh-a-Page).

I suggest searching "To cache or not to cache" in Google for more information: https://google.com/search?q=%22to+cache+or+no ... 2+websites
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39126
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by Webdongle » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:43 pm

The fact that F5 refreshes the content in chrome kind of rules out the site caching doesn't it?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9698
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by sozzled » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:56 pm

I agree to some extent but there's a way to address server-side caching issues, too (as some of the references I posted earlier address).

The fact that a person uses one web browser consistently, and the site content is cached in the browser using that browser (in this case Firefox) explains why hard refreshing works (to pull the updated content into the browser).

The fact that another browser (in this case Google Chrome) sees the latest content is probably because the site's content hasn't been stored in the browser's cache because that browser isn't used by the OP as their preferred browser. When asked about "what about my [other] users?" there are ways to address those matters, too, without the need to for every person (who may use different web browsers to display that website's contents) to have to use forced page refreshes.

For example, cached settings can be controlled within the .htaccess.

The question—implied by the subject—is not about the different ways that web browsers implement page refreshes. The question is simply a matter of understanding what's cached (and where it's cached) and how to address "cache-related" issues. That's the only matter the OP needs to understand. Whether the OP wants to fix the problem is his concern; it doesn't matter to me what he wants to do or whatever anyone else wants to do in their circumstances. I have my own approach to dealing with these questions (taking into consideration the benefits and pitfalls of using caching).

In situations where a website's contents are often changed, caching may not be a good idea at all. It may be useful to cache some content but not all of it. There's no universal one-size-fits-all solution. Again, I suggest one should look at "To cache or not to cache" in Google for more information. 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39126
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by Webdongle » Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:05 am

So to summarise your discourse. A server will identify the browser and only cache the type of browser that visits most regularly ???
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9698
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by sozzled » Wed Jul 01, 2020 1:05 am

No. The server has no clues about (and no way of "identifying") what kind of browser(s) may be used to access a website. To be fair, one can write specific rules to cater for different kinds of web browsers but these things have nothing to do with the question.

There are dozens of different web browsers available that people can use to access websites on the internet. How would a server know which browsers a person uses or cater for every different web browser that a person may use and deal with all those differences?

The question is about caching; it's not about web browser usage, specifically. As I wrote earlier:
sozzled wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:56 pm
The question—implied by the subject—is not about the different ways that web browsers implement page refreshes. The question is simply a matter of understanding what's cached (and where it's cached) and how to address "cache-related" issues. That's the only matter the OP needs to understand. Whether the OP wants to fix the problem is his concern; it doesn't matter to me what he wants to do or whatever anyone else wants to do in their circumstances. I have my own approach to dealing with these questions (taking into consideration the benefits and pitfalls of using caching).
The only question that remains now is whether the OP wants to address the matter. Apart from that, there's no need for me to summarise or rewrite what I have written any differently.

If someone else has a different opinion then they can reply to this topic and express that opinion. I've written what I have written. 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39126
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by Webdongle » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:20 am

OK ... so the fact that the page will refresh with chrome shows that it is not a server caching problem.

@JurajB instead of refreshing ff ... close it down and opening it up again.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9698
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by sozzled » Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:31 am

Wouldn't you think that, after a month, someone could refresh a page? I think we should mark this topic as solved.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39126
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by Webdongle » Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:11 am

sozzled wrote:
Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:31 am
Wouldn't you think that, after a month, someone could refresh a page? I think we should mark this topic as solved.
They don't leave it a month after making changes.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

User avatar
JurajB
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:28 pm

Re: Firefox refresh different from Chrome

Post by JurajB » Mon Aug 03, 2020 2:01 pm

I think that was not provider error but Joomla cache. In hosting I have disabled HTTP Cache, and this didnt work eighter.
What does work is when I installed plugin to clear Joomla cache after any action. (save, edit etc.)
Now I still must sometimes use hardrefresh ctrl f5 but at least it works, before that it didnt in many cases.
Thank you.
<3
https://gurutesting.tech - For cooperative testing, learn Joomla!, explore JoomlaExtesnsionsDirectory (JED), fun and friends Joomlers! write here.
testers@gurutesting.tech


Post Reply

Return to “The Lounge”