Log searches with Google Analytics?

Relax and enjoy The Lounge. For all Non-Joomla! topics or ones that don't fit anywhere else. Normal forum rules apply.
Locked
Lowkey
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:11 pm

Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by Lowkey » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:13 pm

It seems that you can track internal search queries on your page with google analytics.
In the Edit Profile Information you can toggle "Do Track Site Search".
As far as I can figure out, the "Query Parameter (required)" should be "searchword" and I've toggled "No, do not strip query parameters out of URL", but it still doesn't track.

Has anyone experimented with this?

user deleted

Re: Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by user deleted » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:18 pm

Moderator note: moving from S&I to The Lounge

User avatar
alledia
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 3:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by alledia » Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:47 pm

Hi lowkey

Sounds possible, but is there a big advantage over Joomla's default search logging?
Joomla extensions and templates: http://Joomlashack.com

Lowkey
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:11 pm

Re: Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by Lowkey » Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:20 am

It turns out that I was just impatient - the searches were actually logged, but it took a while for them to show up in Analytics.

alledia:
I haven't tried the joomla default logging in Joomla! 1.5, but the feature in 1.0.x isn't that impressive.
With google analytics, it seems that I have a few more options.

These are the options GA presents:
When did visitors use site search?
How do visitors who searched compare to those who didn't?
Which search terms did visitors use?
Which categories did visitors search?
Where did visitors start their searches?
Which pages did visitors find?

That seems pretty useful, but I haven't had much time to play with it yet.
In any case, if you're using GA anyway, there is certainly no reason not to use this feature as well.

teddy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:29 pm

Re: Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by teddy » Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:11 pm

Hi Lowkey, thank you for the hint!
Do you know if there is an advantage in using categories for the search (and in which case?)
and what about parameters to exclude? do you know a page to look into for such deep doumentation?
thanks

philipabbott
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:53 am

Re: Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by philipabbott » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:58 pm

Hi

I am using Google Analytics on my site http://www.leicestercollege.ac.uk.

I have modded the search box to point to either an internal course search or the default Joomla search.

Joomla's search stats are fine for the site search but I want to use Google Analytics for the course search and the variable is not passed in the URL. Can anyone point me in the right direction of how to set up Urchin Tracker?

Have tried this on Google Analytics help but no joy > http://groups.google.com/group/analytic ... 2fd8?fwc=1

Many thanks in advance...

Ladas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:01 am
Contact:

Re: Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by Ladas » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:10 am

The best answer to this question is here: http://getsatisfaction.com/google/topic ... ith_joomla

"rename /components/com_search/router.php to something like router.ignore.php so that it doesn't use SEF urls for the search... "

User avatar
D0gSoldi3r
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 9:05 am

Re: Log searches with Google Analytics?

Post by D0gSoldi3r » Sun Jan 31, 2010 5:47 pm

Well when it says this in Google Analytics below in the settings.

Query Parameter (required):
Use commas to separate multiple parameters (5 max)


I use the letter "q" without quotes or captials, instead of using "searchword"

with No, do not strip query parameters out of URL also.

I was instructed on a blog to do that some time ago and it works great for me and i can track all my searches through analytics, however i'm using a joomla module search which might make it more simple. The url to the search module i use is below if you don't already have it ;)

http://www.kksou.com/php-gtk2/Joomla/go ... module.php


Locked

Return to “The Lounge”