Characters?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 1.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

chandu4ugandhi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:29 am
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby chandu4ugandhi » Tue Apr 14, 2009 2:33 pm

Hello

I am facing new problem in my Joomla 1.5 version

When I open the main page then it is showing  these character on each module heading.

How to solve this type of problem?

Please reply me ASAP.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18597
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Â Characters?

Postby infograf768 » Tue Apr 14, 2009 2:56 pm

Have you checked the collation of your database? It should be utf8, as well as tables and fields tables.
Have you modified any of the core files?
Are you using a specific language other than English as site language?
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

chandu4ugandhi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:29 am
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby chandu4ugandhi » Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:20 am

Hello

I have not modified any type of files..

I am using only English language on my site.

But please tell me that which table in the database I have to check the collation?

So I can check and resolve this bug.

And if you know any type of other solution then please tell me ASAP.

Chandu

chandu4ugandhi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:29 am
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby chandu4ugandhi » Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:38 am

Hello

I have checked all the database tables.

All table's collation is "utf8_general_ci".

Then what is the problem with it.

Why it is showing that type of character on the front main page?

Chandu

six gun
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:43 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby six gun » Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:30 pm

 Characters
Are these by chance anchour tags??
What does the code look like that is generating these?
Sometimes the code works
http://www.askspain.org

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18597
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Â Characters?

Postby infograf768 » Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:08 am

chandu4ugandhi wrote:Hello

I have checked all the database tables.

All table's collation is "utf8_general_ci".

Then what is the problem with it.

Why it is showing that type of character on the front main page?

Chandu


If you give me access to your site (superadmin, phpmyadmin, ftp), I could have a look.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18597
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Â Characters?

Postby infograf768 » Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:10 am

six gun wrote:Â Characters
Are these by chance anchour tags??

I doubt. This due most likely to a wrong collation/encoding.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

hemil_sheth
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:50 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby hemil_sheth » Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:02 am

So in conclusion was anyone able to find the solution to this character.............If I turn off System -cache Off the character goes away but I was wondering if we want the system - cache to be ON how to get rid of this.....

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18597
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Â Characters?

Postby infograf768 » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:30 am

Folks, I have proposed to look into this as deep as possible by getting access to a site with this issue.
Not sure I would be able to solve it, but it is worth trying.
If no one does that, no use we keep this topic open.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

sheffsss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:40 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby sheffsss » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:54 pm

I'm seeing these characters in two of my sites. For example, the first test site I created now has them all over the place.

"This is article 5 which is a fake company safety policy.Â"


They were not there when I created the site but I have gone back to it to do some testing and noticed them inter disbursed throughout the site. I first noticed 3 of them directly under the pdf/print/email icons out on the right side of an article but then I noticed them embedded in the text, as per the example above.

If you look at this web page, it appears as though it is not random but always appears in similar locations in these descriptions. Perhaps I cut and pasted that sentence then modified it.

http://ssscomputerconsulting.com/joomla/

Sheff

six gun
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:43 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Â

Postby six gun » Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:04 am

Has anyone with this problem given infograf768 access to their site?
Sometimes the code works
http://www.askspain.org

quadra
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 1:27 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby quadra » Fri May 15, 2009 1:41 pm

I think I may be onto something here.

I was having the same issue with Joomla 1.5.5 working on the standalone server on my computer with WAMP stack (PHP 4.x).

Once I moved this site onto my server, the problem disappeared.

Everything is identical, the only differences being:
1. Moved from PHP 4.x to 5.x
2. Moved from WAMP to LAMP

So, in my opinion, either Windows or the older PHP version is throwing up a conflict somewhere.

Can someone else confirm this theory?

sheffsss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:40 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby sheffsss » Sat May 16, 2009 12:40 pm

I just saw the verbiage below in a wordpress site. This tells me it's probably got nothing to do with Joomla.

... browser. I did post a solution to this in a previous post that required editing a Windows system core file.Â....

http://serial-box.net/2008/07/22/how-to ... mment-7829

I believe it is a PHP MySQL problem. Have you all done MySQL Export and Import (backup restore)? I did. It may have something to do with that and the translation on the way back in.

Sheff

sheffsss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:40 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby sheffsss » Sat May 30, 2009 11:59 am

Got the reply below from the guy I mentioned above who was having the same  problem with wordpress. I had done a backup/restore on both Joomla databases where I had the problem and I used whatever collation MySQL defaulted to at the time. I a have since changed all of my existing databases to unicode-UTF8 and make sure these are the settings whenever I add a new database before populating it.
...
"If I remember correctly it was due to using the wrong character set. The export should be UTF8 and the new db it gets imported to should also be set to utf8"
...

sheff

aKosmAn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:51 am
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby aKosmAn » Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:02 am

utf8 turkish ci no problem :)

User avatar
hotnuts21
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:11 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby hotnuts21 » Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:55 pm

we had similar issues, hosts had done something with the mysql installation which reverted a utf8 database back to latin_ci which was really annoying.

However there is a great little script available from Phoca at
http://www.phoca.cz/documents/38-tools/ ... n-database

Which changes the collation of the database, tables and columns to utf8 (or whatever you want). Just changing the collation will also make most of the weird characters disapear.

Just one note, dont upload the script to the root of your site, as you will overwrite the joomla index.php file

HTH someone else.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18597
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Â Characters?

Postby infograf768 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:52 am

hotnuts21 wrote:we had similar issues, hosts had done something with the mysql installation which reverted a utf8 database back to latin_ci which was really annoying.

However there is a great little script available from Phoca at
http://www.phoca.cz/documents/38-tools/ ... n-database

Which changes the collation of the database, tables and columns to utf8 (or whatever you want). Just changing the collation will also make most of the weird characters disapear.

Just one note, dont upload the script to the root of your site, as you will overwrite the joomla index.php file

HTH someone else.

Careful with this script as it indeed corrects the db various collations to utf8 but does not correct the contents themselves.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
hotnuts21
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:11 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby hotnuts21 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:27 pm

No very true, our issue was that the site was UTF8 to start with and Mysql was upgraded on the server which caused the tables to revert to the default of latin collation.

The weird characters appeared throughout the site.

After using the above script and changing back all the characters went, so we were lucky! But your right the content in a lot of cases will still need to be corrected.

aranhiggins
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:05 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby aranhiggins » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:58 pm

Hi,
I am so confused! I have been doing allot, disabling the cache plugin (not in global configuration), changing UTF-8 - This has all happened since I switched web host (got my Joomla site into a zip file) and downloaded my database (UTF-8).

My site is www.higginstraffic.com

What should I do?

Thanks

User avatar
Grover
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:53 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby Grover » Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:48 pm

Did anything ever come of this? I just migrated to Joomla 1.5 and these weird characters have now appeared. You can see a couple on this page:

http://www.car-free.ca/ramblings/ramblings/about-the-author-brian-grover

I tried fooling with the cache, to no avail. I have the exact same host, the exact same template, running in legacy mode, as I had on my Joomla 1.14 site. Where is language encoding supposed to be set in J1.5?
Speekeezy Publication Workshop: http://www.speekeezy.ca/
BC Car-Free: Exploring Southwestern British Columbia Without a Car: http://www.car-free.ca

01272
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:55 am

Re: Â Characters?

Postby 01272 » Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:36 pm

aKosmAn wrote:utf8 turkish ci no problem :)



yes i think same
http://www.bearkadin.in.th เรื่องราวของคนติดดิน

User avatar
Grover
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:53 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby Grover » Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:36 pm

I'm having the same problem, all of my apostrophes have been turned into this character:

Code: Select all

’


You can see an example here: http://www.car-free.ca/ramblings/tongue-twisters.html

I've tried all of the "fixes" described in this topic including:
    Turning off system cache mambot
    Ensuring the template language code is set to UTF-8
    Ensuring the MySQL connection collation is set to UTF-8 (utf8_unicode_ci actually)

I found something that works, sort of...

I tried using the component ReReplacer to search for the oddball character and replace with an apostrophe but unfortunately this component requires a search string of longer than two characters. I did a couple tests with longer strings and -- voila -- it worked. This is not adequate as a fix but indicates that a search and replace at the database level SHOULD take care of the problem once and for all.

I always approach mucking around at the database level with a great deal of caution as the amount of damage that can be done is great.

Having said that, I wonder if anyone on the list can make suggestions as to how to do this MySQL Search & Replace with the greatest assurance of safety?

Any potential pitfalls I need to be aware of?

Also wondering if there are any alternative approaches that will achieve the same results?

Forgot to mention that, in my case at least, I suspect that the problem probably arose in the first place by the use of Japanese double bit characters at the input level, either from a Japanese system or a Windows system equipped with the Japanese language bar toggled on.

Joomla Version 1.5.14
Speekeezy Publication Workshop: http://www.speekeezy.ca/
BC Car-Free: Exploring Southwestern British Columbia Without a Car: http://www.car-free.ca

User avatar
nonumber
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby nonumber » Tue Oct 20, 2009 2:34 pm

ReReplacer:
The minimum string length in ReReplacer is to prevent you from being able to replace single letters that can ruin the site (imagine what happens if you replace 'a' with 'x').

If you really want to replace one character, you can just make a list of two 'words', the second just being something that doesn't occur in your site anyway, like:

Â,WhÂtever
NoNumber.nl - Extensions for Joomla!
Advanced Module Manager, Articles Anywhere, Better Preview, CDN for Joomla!, Cache Cleaner, Components Anywhere, DB Replacer, Modals, Modules Anywhere, ReReplacer, Sliders, Sourcerer, Tabs, Tooltips, What? Nothing!

User avatar
Grover
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:53 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby Grover » Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:04 pm

I tried what you suggested, nonumber, but couldn't get it to work. I'm not sure if I understood your fix, frankly.

I used some of the examples from your site with regular expressions but unfortunately it replaced too much in some cases.

Your website mentions an Example Pack 1 but I couldn't find that either. Could you post the link?
Speekeezy Publication Workshop: http://www.speekeezy.ca/
BC Car-Free: Exploring Southwestern British Columbia Without a Car: http://www.car-free.ca

User avatar
Grover
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:53 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby Grover » Sat Oct 24, 2009 3:50 pm

Okay I got it to work as per your post, nonumber.

Search String

Code: Select all

’,Āíćĉ

Replace String

Code: Select all

',ĀíćĉËÚ

You need to turn off all search options and disable in tags.

ReReplacer is an awesome component but I still want to replace these oddball characters at the database level when I muster the courage.
Speekeezy Publication Workshop: http://www.speekeezy.ca/
BC Car-Free: Exploring Southwestern British Columbia Without a Car: http://www.car-free.ca

josephj147
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby josephj147 » Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:12 pm

Hey i had the same problem. many ÂÂÂ characters came when i was migrating from joomla 1.0 to 1.5..

I just exported the jos_content table, then used the search and replace tool to replace "Â" with "" and rebuilt the jos_content table and now everything is WORKING. :D

Hope it helps 8)

soldatenhund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Â

Postby soldatenhund » Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:22 pm

Gang, can someone provide me with step by step instructions as to how I can remove these characters from my joomla site. It started after exporting and moving to a new server, I have lots of content but need to clean this content so I can turn the system cache back on.

I can use phpMySql if anyone can provide the proper syntax or method etc.

Your assistance would be greatly appreciated from anyone ASAP.

AlexDontKnow
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:14 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby AlexDontKnow » Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:20 pm

For 3,000,000 milions time another same question..
???? letters instead of č ć š đ ž...

this is adress http://www.duobalyk.com/

I try everthyng, I do really mean that.

And I gave up..
I'm asking someone could he Help Me!

Thank you VERY MUCH!!!!

soldatenhund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby soldatenhund » Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:29 pm

I also can successfully search the tables using the search funciont in phpmysql but can't figure out the SQL syntax to replace them. I tried a few statements and the result was zero.

Any SQL gurus out there? I don't mind going table by table, field by field if necessary.

AlexDontKnow
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:14 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby AlexDontKnow » Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:01 pm

soldatenhund wrote:I also can successfully search the tables using the search funciont in phpmysql but can't figure out the SQL syntax to replace them. I tried a few statements and the result was zero.

Any SQL gurus out there? I don't mind going table by table, field by field if necessary.


No gurus just an avarage web/design and hmm...joomla..i hope.
this is my site so check it http://www.aleksandarmisin.com/....

So i can't find the problem in my index.php says both

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1250" />
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
and there is not one č ć š ž đ just ???????.....

If you find something...great but i'm crazy with that..


Return to “Language - Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests