Characters?

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 1.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

soldatenhund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby soldatenhund » Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:09 pm

The characters are in the Database. I just don't know the proper syntax to remove them in my case.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18408
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Â Characters?

Postby infograf768 » Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:50 am

AlexDontKnow wrote:
soldatenhund wrote:
So i can't find the problem in my index.php says both

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1250" />
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
.

You have to get rid of the windows charset in your template index.php on one hand.
On the other hand you have to make sure as was stated MANY times on these forums, that your database is collated UTF8, the tables same and the fields in the tables also.
For this, use PHPMyadmin or Phoca script as explained above.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

soldatenhund
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby soldatenhund » Fri Apr 16, 2010 6:38 am

My collation is correct in the DB, when I search for the character I find it in the DB. I'll check the windows charset in the template. but if it is in the DB how do I remove it?

mazacini
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby mazacini » Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:25 am

Hi

I'm having this problem when I export my databse from my webserver, and copy it into my local host. The  appears on the localhost, even though the live web version was originally copied from localhost, and localhost did not display this character until I transferred back from live web version. Also, text ..... appears as …â€

From history of this thread, problem seems to mainly relate to utf-8 settings. For my Website (phpmyadmin) settings are:MySQL charset and MySQL connection collation are both UTF-8 Unicode.

However, another source of this problem seems to be the incorrect use of spaces in content. I refer to this from "infograf" Nov 2008:

infograf768 wrote:Except for the fact that your text abuses of non breaking spaces next to normal spaces, I do not understand this behavior.

Code: Select all

Once again!&nbsp; VOLUNTEERS!&nbsp; PLEASE PARK OFF-CAMPUS!</p>


Could you clean-up your code and take of one of the spaces where they are together?
Which version of Joomla?
Which text editor?
Is your database full utf8?


My questions: What is causing this behaviour? If I am abusing rules regarding text / spaces, what are these rules? (Remember, I am completely non-technical).

Joe

User avatar
SallyR
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:35 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby SallyR » Sat May 22, 2010 2:39 pm

I just got this problem with a recent copy of my live joomla site. My server hosting company copied the files and database to a new server on a temporary domain and once I test it, I will switch the joomla on the new server to my old domain

Here is my live site without the the odd  characters www.officialfanclub.net
Here is the recently copied stie www.officialfanclub.info

The content on both domains is 100% identical. The only change I made was pointing the configuration.php to the new database name and server. I did not change anything in the administrator, no new files, nothing else. Very odd.

I cannot switch to this new server until this is resolved. Any ideas???

tomasksolomon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:08 am

Re: Â Characters?

Postby tomasksolomon » Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:40 am

I had the same issue. The problem I had was caused by my database. My MySQL connection collation was configured to accept UTF8_Unicode_ci text and I had copied and pasted text from a wordPad to my sql query to create tables. The work around I came up with was using text from a notepad instead of wordpad. Therefore, the simple answer is if you are using workpad, ms word or other formatted text to create your tables in MySQL then try using plain text.

Tomas

rickb928
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:34 am

Re: Â Characters?

Postby rickb928 » Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:37 am

This problem jus came up out of the blue on my site. System Cache was disabled, and enabling it fixed the problem, for now. I'll be checking on this over the next few days.

xyzt
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:45 am

Re: Â

Postby xyzt » Mon Nov 07, 2011 2:51 pm

Updating JoomFish helpen over here!

jamesreed
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:45 am

Re: Â Characters?

Postby jamesreed » Tue May 22, 2012 1:04 pm

SOLVED! had the same problem, clear the cache the character disappear, but refresh and the weird A's randomly appear again, mostly where the UK pound(£) symbol was used.

I always do mysqldump with --default-character-set=latin1 so my problem wasn't the characters in the database, as that fixes that.

My solution was to:
1) run the Phoca tool on the database.
2) add to the local php.ini file:
default_charset = "utf-8"

on phpinfo() it says the master setting is UTF8, but forcing the local to be UTF8 is what sorted things out!
Thanks for the phoca script tip.

User avatar
happy_noodle_boy
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:32 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Â

Postby happy_noodle_boy » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:33 pm

This may also be related to changes in PHP 5.4. Please see - http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=29944
just because you're not paranoid, doesn't mean everybody isn't out to get you.
http://www.maketradefair.org

Monia1214
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 10:26 pm

Re: Â

Postby Monia1214 » Sun Jul 28, 2013 10:40 pm

I think I found The Solution for me means it worked :)
I have PHP version 5.4, I found a solution to one of the forums below link (2 post from the end) attachment below.

http://www.jevents.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17668

Let me know if helped. Yours.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

filim
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:43 am

Re: Â

Postby filim » Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:39 pm

infograf768 wrote:
chandu4ugandhi wrote:Hello

I have checked all the database tables.

All table's collation is "utf8_general_ci".

Then what is the problem with it.

Why it is showing that type of character on the front main page?

Chandu


If you give me access to your site (superadmin, phpmyadmin, ftp), I could have a look.

The collation shall be "utf8_general_ci" or "utf8_unicode_ci" fore the database in Joomla 1.5!?

User avatar
wernejo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Â

Postby wernejo » Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:59 am

Hi everyone,

i've just had this issue appear out of nowhere on two websites that have been running just fine for the last 2 years. both websites run joomla 1.5 and jce.

the only thing that i can find to link these to websites is the fact that both are been managed by people using safari. but why would these two perfectly healthy websites start playing up like this for no reason?

none of the websites have been moved from different hosts or anything that would require changes to the sql database. could this be something to do with jce and safari?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18408
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Â Characters?

Postby infograf768 » Fri Oct 04, 2013 6:45 am

Unrelated imho to safari and JCE. Easy to test by using another browser and unpublishing JCE.

I would rather consider a change done by your host wothout your knowledge.
Also, 1.5 is now obsolete. I suggest you move to 2.5
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
wernejo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Â

Postby wernejo » Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:09 am

infograf768 wrote:Unrelated imho to safari and JCE. Easy to test by using another browser and unpublishing JCE.

I would rather consider a change done by your host wothout your knowledge.
Also, 1.5 is now obsolete. I suggest you move to 2.5


i do agree with what you're saying about the upgrade but unfortunately it isn't really an option due to the cost of building a new website.


I've tested the browsers and haven't had any issues even when using the same browser as my clients use for when they do their updates. the other thing is that its only happening in one article and not the whole website.

is there any solutions i could try apart from changing jce? i am currently trying one website without jce to see if that works.

rutin
I've been banned!
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:49 am

Re: Â Characters?

Postby rutin » Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:47 pm

I'm working with a few of my other users on Gmail whose emails always have the  symbol to see if them changing their Gmail to UTF-8 will solve the problem. I'll let you know.

User avatar
Chacapamac
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:50 am
Location: Canada, Montreal
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby Chacapamac » Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:40 pm

Brand new 3.3.6 with same type of problems ????

http://www.monacouphene.ca/traitements

Seem the only page in the site causing a problem

Infograf, if you want to take a look I have no problem...
Can God help us?
Marketing, SEO, Web development - Powered by Joomla!
http://www.grafcomm.ca/

User avatar
Chacapamac
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:50 am
Location: Canada, Montreal
Contact:

Re: Â Characters?

Postby Chacapamac » Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:09 pm

In that case, when I add the “È” character in ACOUPÈNE in this article - The problem occurs ?
Can God help us?
Marketing, SEO, Web development - Powered by Joomla!
http://www.grafcomm.ca/

tenia
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: Â Characters?

Postby tenia » Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:00 am

Chacapamac wrote:In that case, when I add the “È” character in ACOUPÈNE in this article - The problem occurs ?
hi Chacapamac!
please see:

Code: Select all

http://www.theasciicode.com.ar/extended-ascii-code/letter-e-grave-accent-ascii-code-138.html
http://www.utf8-chartable.de/


Return to “Language - Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests