I need site in 2 languages

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 1.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Locked
Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:42 pm

I want to make a joomla site in 2 languages ​​(Russian and English) the main language will be Russian, but I do not want to use technologies like Google translator or similar, I was thinking of creating 2 times the site (the site in English in a folder for example mydomain.com / en)
the problem would be that users of English and Russain would be different and could not be integrated as to achieve this?

thanks

User avatar
lopoBL
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:28 pm
Location: Banja Luka, Bosnia
Contact:

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by lopoBL » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:50 pm

JomFish?

Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:08 pm

JomFish? What is it? I dont know

Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:11 pm

Do you have live chat? I have got more questions

User avatar
lopoBL
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:28 pm
Location: Banja Luka, Bosnia
Contact:

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by lopoBL » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:19 pm

Sasha Zdor wrote:Do you have live chat? I have got more questions
I do, but I give it only to my friends, sorry :)

Please check this link: http://www.joomfish.net/

Basically JoomFish is component for multilingual support on Joomla 1.5

Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:35 pm

I get it what is next?

Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:36 pm

So pity that you cant to chat with me = It will be easy to solve some problems :(

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25756
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:01 pm

Is there a particular reason for starting a new multi-language site i J1.5 now?

I would have used J1.7 which has more strong language support.

User avatar
lopoBL
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 12:28 pm
Location: Banja Luka, Bosnia
Contact:

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by lopoBL » Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:04 pm

Per Yngve Berg wrote:Is there a particular reason for starting a new multi-language site i J1.5 now?

I would have used J1.7 which has more strong language support.
True, but questions is in J1.5 forum so I just answered didn't even think about this :-[

Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:19 pm

Is it possible to upgrate 1.5 to 1.7? My site is on line could I have some trubles?

Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:20 pm

What is the best way to have 2 or more languages in this case?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18829
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by infograf768 » Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:40 am

Sasha Zdor wrote:I want to make a joomla site in 2 languages ​​(Russian and English)
Sasha Zdor wrote:Is it possible to upgrate 1.5 to 1.7? My site is on line could I have some trubles?
Do you have a site in 1.5 or do you want to start a multilanguage site?
It is unclear.

If you already have a 1.5 site and it is a complex site, use Joomfish.
If you do not have a 1.5 site or if it is a simple site, upgrade to 1.6 then 1.7 and use the new mutilanguage functionnality.

See: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=617&t=583461
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Sasha Zdor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by Sasha Zdor » Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:50 pm

I have got Joomla 1.5 and my question is could I upgreat this version to 1.7 without trubles?
If I understand clear in version 1.7 we have no problems with multilanguage version.
Is it possible or I need to start do my site from the beginning with new version 1.7?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18829
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by infograf768 » Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:31 am

Sasha Zdor wrote:I have got Joomla 1.5 and my question is could I upgreat this version to 1.7 without trubles?
You better test first locally by using
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... I7fQ%3D%3D

All depends on the complexity of your site and the use of 3rd part extensions for which you would not have 1.7 equivalent.

Concerning multilang in 1.7, same possible issues. All depends on the complexity of your site and the availability of 3rd party multilanguage aware extensions.

Test, test and test again locally. :)
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

TBeznik
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:51 pm

Re: I need site in 2 languages

Post by TBeznik » Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:07 pm

How to approach to other site language, when want to do a maintenance? I cant find it!

I am having one in english and serbian! Want to edit english one!

Any ideas?

Thanks


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 1.5”