Some error-text in front end editor

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 1.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Locked
saabeirik
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:30 pm

Some error-text in front end editor

Post by saabeirik » Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:08 pm

Hi!

I was trying out ways to remove functions in the front end editor, when I suddenly realized something had gone wrong.

Take a look at the bottom of my screen shot:
http://i.imgur.com/O5lxz.png

Can anyone help me figure out what's gone wrong, and how to fix this?

Some additional information:
I've traced that "error line" back to the file /public_html/components/com_content/views/form/tmpl/edit.php, it's the last piece of this file. If I remove this command, the problem seems to disappear.

But is this the right solution? Or am I removing something that should be here?

Thanks a lot for any help, it will be greatly appreciated! :D

GlobeOfGeek
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:52 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by GlobeOfGeek » Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:30 pm

Maybe you deleted a function or something such as that, however you have not removed the "function call" so the code is looking for something that doesn't exist any longer. Did you make a backup of your code before editing?
Names Kyle, pleasure to be a service to the joomla community!
I work with PhP, Database Management, and of course, Joomla stuff of all kinds.
My goal(s):
- To ensure that every legit question is answered, and to become an elite Joomla developer.

saabeirik
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:30 pm

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by saabeirik » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:50 pm

I thought I had made a backup of that spesific file (edit.php), but when I replace the damaged one with my backup, there is no difference. So I guess the problem is either in another file (that I might have edited), or the backup I made is faulty somehow.

I'm not sure how that file works. And I must admit I don't understand what that code means. Is it possible that I've accidentally copy-pasted something wrong, so that the text at the bottom wasn't supposed to be there in the first place? I checked the same file from another site, and that seems the same as mine, just without that last part that causes this mess.

(I'm an amateur just starting with Joomla, and I guess I'm now learning about the importance of backup the hard way.. :-[ )

Here's a screenshot of the last part of my edit.php at the mentioned location. There you can see the whole part of the code that's causing headache. Can anyone tell me if this belongs here? :)

Edit: Forgot the screenshot:
http://i.imgur.com/mKbmf.png

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37285
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by Webdongle » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:53 pm

It looks like you have some language files missing.

What version of Joomla do you have ?

Is it an upgrade ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

GlobeOfGeek
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:52 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by GlobeOfGeek » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:46 pm

@Webdongle

What gave you the hint that this is regarding language files (just curios).
Names Kyle, pleasure to be a service to the joomla community!
I work with PhP, Database Management, and of course, Joomla stuff of all kinds.
My goal(s):
- To ensure that every legit question is answered, and to become an elite Joomla developer.

saabeirik
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:30 pm

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by saabeirik » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:53 pm

No upgrade. I started by installing Joomla 2.5. Never installed language packs, just kept en_gb. (have installed a new language pack after this problem came up.)

This problem wasn't here to begin with, it happened recently. And I don't think I've deleted any files (on purpose) but I may have edited some files I shouldn't have :geek:

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37285
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by Webdongle » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:55 pm

Because the first screen shot shows the 'key' COM_CONTENT_IMAGES_AND_URLS which is in the xx-XX.com_content.ini
COM_CONTENT_IMAGES_AND_URLS="Images and Links"

So if it's displaying the key instead of the text then it is possible there is something wrong with the language file.(or path to it).

But as he was editing a core file he may have removed part of the 'echo' command.

Addendum if it's from editing a core file then re upload the Joomla files(all except the /installation folder). And read http://docs.joomla.org/How_to_override_ ... omla!_core
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

GlobeOfGeek
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:52 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by GlobeOfGeek » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:59 pm

Ahh I see, that makes more sense. Thanks.
Names Kyle, pleasure to be a service to the joomla community!
I work with PhP, Database Management, and of course, Joomla stuff of all kinds.
My goal(s):
- To ensure that every legit question is answered, and to become an elite Joomla developer.

saabeirik
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:30 pm

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by saabeirik » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:04 am

Thanks a lot for your answers. I'll study the article I was pointed at, if I understand correctly it's about how to modify Joomla files without making the kind of mess I just did.

Before I go ahead and reupload the Joomla files, is there anything I need to know? I need to be able to restore my website. I'll do a backup of my files before doing anything else. After that I guess I'll just reupload all the files again, so that I overwrite the files? (Or should I first delete everything, before reuploading?)

And after that: Will the page be working again after that? No new Joomla installation process required?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37285
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Some error-text in front end editor

Post by Webdongle » Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:50 pm

No installation required

Just upload all except the /installation folder

The core files will overwrite the core files on the server

No extension files will be touched.

Just use Filezilla ftp client, line up the files on your PC with the ones on the server. Right click, upload, overwrite(apply to current queue)
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 1.5”