Multiple languages site

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 1.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Muki0082
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Multiple languages site

Post by Muki0082 » Fri May 11, 2012 6:57 am

Hi all,

I'm new in Joomla! and need some help. I have a site created in Joomla! and it's in english. Now I want to add three more languages, and later even more. I want to add languages for the site, my personal content (home page, news sections, forum, register section, everything), and I have my translation.

I've tried translation manager, but it seems not to be for what I need, at least not only TM, maybe I need some more components or something?

Pls, can someone give me an advice, is there a good extension for this, or a link with tutorial or anything that could help me?

Thank you :)
Muki

infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Multiple languages site

Post by infograf768 » Fri May 11, 2012 7:03 am

For Joomla 1.5, try Joomfish.
Joomla 2.5 includes a core multilanguage functionality.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Muki0082
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Muki0082 » Fri May 11, 2012 7:07 am

Thank you. I'll give it a try :)

Muki

madelman2
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by madelman2 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:26 pm

Joomfish is too heavy and creates a lot of useless SQL queries on the server that take a long time to respond and kills everything. Is there any other extension better than Joomfish on 1.5?

Muki0082
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Muki0082 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:24 pm

I've installed Joomfish and it's great so far. I'm translating the site into 3 new languages. But the only thing is that the site become reallllyyy slow. I think it could be because of that extra sql code. If anyone have an idea how to fix this pls share with us.