Change page language code

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 1.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Locked
User avatar
lvicini
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Almunecar - Spain

Change page language code

Post by lvicini » Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:08 pm

Hello,

I have a multilingual site with Joomfish. I have several languages including Dutch. The language code that is appearing on the pages is "nl-nl". Since the audience of the page is directed toward Belgium (code nl-BE) and the Netherlands (code nl-nl) I was hoping to change the language code to the more generic "nl". Is there a way to do this?

Cheers
Luca

User avatar
daverii
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:20 pm
Location: Switzerland, UK & France
Contact:

Re: Change page language code

Post by daverii » Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:59 pm

Tony Davis

Wengen, Switzerland

User avatar
lvicini
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:10 pm
Location: Almunecar - Spain

Re: Change page language code

Post by lvicini » Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:12 pm

Hi Tony,
Thank you for your answer. The presentation is about Joomla 1.7 (my site is in Joomla 1.5) but I guess the same problem appear in Joomla 1.7. RFC 3066 the standard to use for the lang attribute in web pages accepts formats like:
[iso639 language code]
and
[iso639 language code]-[iso3166 country code] (when you want to be specific about the variant)
Now Joomla is forcing me to use the second format instead of the former and besides Joomfish doesn't allow me to change it.

I hope I was not too confusing in my explanation.
Cheers
Luca

rutin
I've been banned!
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:49 am

Re: Change page language code

Post by rutin » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:19 am

Hi
If you want to add features to the language code How can I do?
For example, to bold and italic ...

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18829
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Change page language code

Post by infograf768 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:09 am

rutin wrote:Hi
If you want to add features to the language code How can I do?
For example, to bold and italic ...
Not sure I understand.
Anyhow 1.5 is not supported any more and I suggest you move to 2.5
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

rutin
I've been banned!
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:49 am

Re: Change page language code

Post by rutin » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:19 am

@infograf768
I did a lot of work, but did not succeed!
Trying to install Joomla 2.5 and I want upgrade my site to the
Thank you.


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 1.5”