128 - Create a Joomla! v 1.5 CSS for Bar Graphs Plugin

Google's Highly Open Participation Program tries to get young students into Open Source and Joomla! specifically. Everyone is welcome, there are not limits. You can be a coder, documenter, tester, translator to help out. Jump in and start helping!
thomasfedb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:09 pm

Re: 128 - Create a Joomla! v 1.5 CSS for Bar Graphs Plugin

Post by thomasfedb » Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:08 am

I can handle a little geek speak, Thomas.  ;)
Ok, sorry! lol
I can also give you access to a server environment we can share, if you wish. I'll PM you an admin ID if you want.
that would be best, as my test server just died!!  :'(
Will the test server be reset every 24 hrs? (best if not...)

On the test server, do you think JoomlaXplorer (will require legacy plugin) could be install (and me have access to it) so that i can make changes to prograph.php on the fly?
If not them i will have to edit, uninstall, reinstall...

also did you try:

Code: Select all

clear:right
and

Code: Select all

clear:left
thx

AmyStephen
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7056
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Location: Nebraska
Contact:

Re: 128 - Create a Joomla! v 1.5 CSS for Bar Graphs Plugin

Post by AmyStephen » Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:10 am

OK, PM"ed you some system credentials and instructions.

In the meantime, did you get a chance to try the text I sent in one of your own articles? It will produce the same results. Hopefully, you've played around with this in your own environment -- it's nothing to do with my server or desktop. It's just needing to show people how to use the plugin and separate their content.

Look forward to seeing this working - it has great potential!
Amy :)

thomasfedb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:09 pm

Re: 128 - Create a Joomla! v 1.5 CSS for Bar Graphs Plugin

Post by thomasfedb » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:41 pm

http://joomlaplace.org/joomlaghop/compo ... lugin.html

all working now... i ended up using some math and a height css atribute. It works and its much cleaner than using clearers....
I also fixed a internet explorer incompadibility that caused graph type 2 to do very weird things.....

I have modifyed joomlacode so that you have to be logged in to see old releases, so casual viewers only see the latest version ( it trust people with a joomlacode login to know the difference between Alpha and 1.3 lol...)

There are two new versions on joomla code 1.2 - fixes the graph type 2 problem
1.3 - fixes ie isues...

please have a look and tell me if you think its ready for final review... (you will notice i added some dummy text and changed graph 3 a bit so it looks nicer...)

thx ;D

AmyStephen
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7056
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Location: Nebraska
Contact:

Re: 128 - Create a Joomla! v 1.5 CSS for Bar Graphs Plugin

Post by AmyStephen » Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:06 pm

Thomas -

You are incredibly impressive. You have produced this beautiful and functional and smart and beautiful graphing ability that people can quickly drop beyond my imagination. It's going to be hotter than hot cakes, my friend. People are going to LOVE this. It's easy to use and, now, they can position it perfectly inside of their articles and it looks as good as ANYTHING that the Wall Street Journal might put on a website.

We are fortunate to have had your involvement in this project - for years to come - the Joomla! community will use your amazing extension. I accept this extension as complete. Please upload it to the Google task page.

Good luck with this! You are going to have some fun! I know we will have fun with ProGraph!

Remarkable.
Amy :)

thomasfedb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:09 pm

Re: 128 - Create a Joomla! v 1.5 CSS for Bar Graphs Plugin

Post by thomasfedb » Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:44 pm

Thanks......

I'v uploaded it to Google now!

However i have a few questions!?!:
1) Any chance of seeing this used on joomla.org? (or do you use Joomla 1.0.xxx)
2) Do you want me to go looking for people with php problems in the GHOP forums?
3) I would like to join a Joomla! group. Is this possible...?

Thanks, thanks, and more thanks...........

AmyStephen
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7056
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Location: Nebraska
Contact:

Re: 128 - Create a Joomla! v 1.5 CSS for Bar Graphs Plugin

Post by AmyStephen » Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:06 am

1. Joomla! org uses 1.0.x now.

2. Please! Yes, anything you can do to help others is very much appreciated!

3. That might be possible. :) Yes, we have talked about how great it would be to continue working with those of you interested after the contest.

For now, find another task!

Thanks for all of your work,
Amy :)


Locked

Return to “Google's Highly Open Participation Contest”