[30]optimize your DataBase in Tools menu

Locked
User avatar
newart
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Solar system - Earth - European Union

[30]optimize your DataBase in Tools menu

Post by newart » Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:03 pm

A simple and tricky useful featurein administration in 1.6 version:

in Tools menu, we have:
Read Messages
Write Message
Mass Mail
Global Check-in
Clean Cache

to add --> optimize your DataBase

a tool menu very important and easy for everybody for maintaining your DB directly by joomla!

NO PROBLEM for developping that, useful for admins (without using a phpmyadmin for that simple & useful action) and very easy for all joomlers...
former Q&T WorkGroup Joomla member - Italian Translation Team Member

User avatar
newart
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Solar system - Earth - European Union

Re: optimize your DataBase in Tools menu

Post by newart » Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:30 pm

Just for explaining the small work to be made in the admin menu, Here is the query SQL action to be done in the DB by pression in that menu:
OPTIMIZE TABLE `jos_banner` , `jos_bannerclient` , `jos_bannertrack` , `jos_categories` , `jos_components` , `jos_contact_details` , `jos_content` , `jos_content_frontpage` , `jos_content_rating` , `jos_core_acl_aro` , `jos_core_acl_aro_groups` , `jos_core_acl_aro_map` , `jos_core_acl_aro_sections` , `jos_core_acl_groups_aro_map` , `jos_core_log_items` , `jos_core_log_searches` , `jos_groups` , `jos_menu` , `jos_menu_types` , `jos_messages` , `jos_messages_cfg` , `jos_modules` , `jos_modules_menu` , `jos_newsfeeds` , `jos_plugins` , `jos_polls` , `jos_poll_data` , `jos_poll_date` , `jos_poll_menu` , `jos_sections` , `jos_session` , `jos_stats_agents` , `jos_templates_menu` , `jos_users` , `jos_weblinks`
former Q&T WorkGroup Joomla member - Italian Translation Team Member

User avatar
newart
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Solar system - Earth - European Union

Re: optimize your DataBase in Tools menu

Post by newart » Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:34 pm

so The php code could be built as follows...
$sql = 'OPTIMIZE TABLE `jos_banner`, `jos_bannerclient`, `jos_bannertrack`, `jos_categories`, `jos_components`, `jos_contact_details`, `jos_content`, `jos_content_frontpage`, `jos_content_rating`, `jos_core_acl_aro`, `jos_core_acl_aro_groups`, `jos_core_acl_aro_map`, `jos_core_acl_aro_sections`, `jos_core_acl_groups_aro_map`, `jos_core_log_items`, `jos_core_log_searches`, `jos_groups`, `jos_menu`, `jos_menu_types`, `jos_messages`, `jos_messages_cfg`, `jos_modules`, `jos_modules_menu`, `jos_newsfeeds`, `jos_plugins`, `jos_polls`, `jos_poll_data`, `jos_poll_date`, `jos_poll_menu`, `jos_sections`, `jos_session`, `jos_stats_agents`, `jos_templates_menu`, `jos_users`, `jos_weblinks`';
former Q&T WorkGroup Joomla member - Italian Translation Team Member

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: [30]optimize your DataBase in Tools menu

Post by ircmaxell » Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:26 pm

I STRONGLY disagree with doing this... Optimizing tables should always be done ONLY after a backup. It CAN corrupt data (it's rare, but it's possible). Plus, there's generally not much to gain by running optimize table... Right from MySQL's manual:
In most setups, you need not run OPTIMIZE TABLE at all. Even if you do a lot of updates to variable-length rows, it is not likely that you need to do this more than once a week or month and only on certain tables.
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
newart
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3177
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Solar system - Earth - European Union

Re: [30]optimize your DataBase in Tools menu

Post by newart » Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:14 pm

I regurarly use the OPTIMIZE and never seen any DB crash. The tables need to be optimized regularly (as data is added, edited, and deleted) and doing that twice a week. Maybe you can save the DB before OPTIMIZE in the same tools menu... maybe it can be just an idea...
former Q&T WorkGroup Joomla member - Italian Translation Team Member


Locked

Return to “Not Accepted - Archived”