Cannot Install Extensions

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
auzmartist
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Cannot Install Extensions

Post by auzmartist » Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:25 pm

Hello,
I am moving our site to a remote windows server from unix because of a new version of php on the Windows server's that our host provides. I am unable to install extensions on the new site though, because of my /tmp and /logs folders are "unwritable". I have contacted my host and they claim time and time again that everything is writable for the web user. In the meantime, my work is stagnating as I wait for 3+ hours for my host to fiddle with permissions to no avail. Has anyone had this problem? How can I fix it? Thanks for the help!

auzmartist
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Cannot Install Extensions

Post by auzmartist » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:10 pm

Alright, well it looks like I hadn't tried everything. After quite a while, I finally got the full path right on a hunch. I put that in to my configuration.php file and Viola!, things are writable now. However, I am still faced with a bewildering problem. I am still unable to install extensions. Here is the error that I get:
Warning! Failed to move file.

Warning: move_uploaded_file(\f810-e4.msp.eschelon.com\customer-home\C\colopetro\tmp\com_akeeba-3.3.b1-core.zip) [function.move-uploaded-file]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in \\f810-e4.msp.eschelon.com\customer-home\C\colopetro\libraries\joomla\filesystem\file.php on line 351