500 error after clearing cache...help!

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ansa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

500 error after clearing cache...help!

Post by ansa » Sat Dec 10, 2011 8:30 pm

I'm still pretty new to Joomla. This is only my 3rd site and I've had it for about 6 months now, still tinkering, but mostly its set up. Just working on the content now. Today I went in to add an article and when I tried to refresh the home page to see the new article...it was gone. The whole site! I can still get into the administrative end with no problem, but not the front end! Firefox does nothing but show me an empty white page. Chrome shows a 500 error message.

The only other thing I did was clear the cache under maintenance option before refreshing the site. Maybe this is a bad idea? I do this because otherwise it takes SOOO long for me to see my changes. Is there a better way???

What happened!? How do I fix it? I could restore the site I guess, but really want to know what I did and how to not do it again.

speedziarz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: 500 error after clearing cache...help!

Post by speedziarz » Sat Dec 10, 2011 10:50 pm

Try to clean cache again, check in database and clean the browser cache, and then refresh the site... Maybe it is only because something broke on your server, maybe this is database fault. Try and write what happen.
Do you use standard cache or JotCache ?
Strona edukacyjna z fizyki, jest niezwykle przydatna dla gimnazjum, liceum oraz na studiach - http://fizyka.dk jest trudna, ale dzięki http://fizyka.dk/tablice/wzory/wzory-li ... rta-wzorow i nie tylko, łatwo można nauczyć się fizyki.

ansa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling