Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla!. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Locked
User avatar
lisan28
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:17 pm
Contact:

Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by lisan28 » Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:20 pm

Hi there,

I have the core Joomla SEF plugin working no problem, file extensions are removed and index.php as well (so I'm using Apache mod_rewrite). However when I try to change the alias for a menu item my page doesn't work anymore.

For example, if I have a page named:

http://www.mysite.com/about-me

and I try to rename it by changing the menu item alias to:

http://www.mysite.com/bio

I get a 'Page not Found' error. This also happens if I try unpublishing the old menu item and making an entirely new one that points to the same article with a different alias. My understanding was that the SEF url was generated based on what the alias for the menu item was.

Anyone else ran into this before?
Last edited by toivo on Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: locked topic to stop attracting spammers

User avatar
lisan28
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by lisan28 » Fri Sep 24, 2010 4:01 pm

I guess nobody else has. :) Well I'll keep toiling away at it and I'll keep a log of what I find out here in case anybody in the future has the same problem. It seems really strange to me that creating a new menu item gives me the page not found error as well.

I really don't want to use a 3rd party extension like sh404 because I don't want to slow the site down, it's already kinda heavy as there is a lot of video/audio and graphics.

I also want to remove the category from the urls for items that are in a submenu, but that's a mod_rewrite thing and not a Joomla thing so I'll need to ask about that on an Apache forum. For example I want to take urls from:
www.mysite.com/music/song1
to:
www.mysite.com/song1

I'm an intermediate level coder so this type of thing isn't too daunting, just need to wrap my head around the proper regex for the rewrite rule.

User avatar
Leftfield
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4430
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:33 am
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by Leftfield » Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:59 pm

lisan28 wrote:However when I try to change the alias for a menu item my page doesn't work anymore.
Have you tried to delete cache?

User avatar
lisan28
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by lisan28 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 2:08 am

Yeah I hit CTRL+F5 a few times and I don't have cache enabled in my System settings. No go.

User avatar
Leftfield
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4430
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:33 am
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by Leftfield » Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:58 pm

I mean cache for site. In Joomla! backend... Sorry i didnt have time to explain better!

User avatar
lisan28
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by lisan28 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:41 pm

That's what I mean, under Global Configuration->System I have 'Enable Cache' set to no. So there is no cache.

*Edit* - I checked just to be sure and when I go to Tools -> Clean Cache there is nothing there. I tried Purge Expired Cache too but no difference.

User avatar
lisan28
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by lisan28 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:38 pm

Now that it's the weekend I have had some more time to test/figure things out. Here is some more information, I think this is something very specific to my case and I have no idea how to fix it yet. But here is some more information:

I have isolated where the problem is. I tried changing some of the other SEF urls and it worked no problem. There are very specific articles that are the issue, and of course those are the ones that the client wants changed! :laugh:

I took over this site and converted it to using Joomla, before it was a static HTML website. The SEF urls that I am trying to change to used to have html pages of the same name. I have removed those pages, but it's like it's still trying to find those. Enabling file extensions and adding .php to the end of the SEF urls would probably work, but the client does not want to have any file extensions.

So...I still don't know how to fix it but now I have something new to Google. I'll keep everyone posted...

User avatar
lisan28
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by lisan28 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:50 pm

Okay fixed! It's very strange, although I had named the conflicting pages to bio.html-bak etc. it was still recognizing them. Once I removed them completely the URL changes worked.

That's me I suppose, always looking for the complicated answer when it's usually something simple. ;) Good to have that solved! Now to read up on the dark arts of mod_rewrite....

User avatar
Leftfield
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4430
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:33 am
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by Leftfield » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:24 pm

Lisan, I am really happy you resolved situation :)

zaffi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:48 am

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by zaffi » Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:51 pm

i'm having similar problem

i couldn't understand your solution / explanation.

my problem is (and i have found few unsolved references to it), that
after creating a new article, i can't access them via short url.
the article is published,
it's alias is "xxx"
when i go to "http://my.site/xxx" i get a 404 not found message.

i tried to rename the alias (problem remains)
the cache is globally disabled anyway
other short links work.
i prefer not to install a new module.
i am using the System SEF module.

is there a place for registering short links?
is there a "refresh" option for this short links? or anything?
what should be done in order to view new articles using short links?

thanks!

Edit: Solved
a new article isn't appear automatically by its alias.
it must have a menu item linked to it.
I added a link in the menu, and the short URL is now working.

davindersangha
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:02 pm

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by davindersangha » Mon May 09, 2011 12:50 pm

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=428&t=618202

I'm having a major problem with mine. Sometimes it fixes itself and sometimes it goes back to the problem as described in the attached link.

justicef
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:54 pm

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by justicef » Fri May 11, 2012 5:23 am

I did have the same problem. For instance I wanted to change
http://justicef.net/index.php/parks-home
to:
http://justicef.net/index.php/jafari-home

I solved it by chance; it means that I could not find any information helps me in this case. I went to Global Configuration ---> site. In the right column you see "Unicode Aliases Yes No". I selected YES. That is it, but I kept "Site name in Page Titles" NO.

All the best,
Last edited by pe7er on Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Manual signature has been removed.

justicef
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:54 pm

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by justicef » Fri May 11, 2012 5:58 pm

Also you have to leave the alias box (located under the title you want to change)free/blank; otherwise, it does not function well.
Last edited by pe7er on Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Manual signature has been removed.

alternatecloud
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:24 am

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by alternatecloud » Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:02 pm

justicef wrote:Also you have to leave the alias box (located under the title you want to change)free/blank; otherwise, it does not function well.
BEST ANSWER!!

Works immediately.

Thanks Justicef

User avatar
enbees
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 860
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:58 am
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by enbees » Thu Dec 26, 2013 7:29 am

lisan28 wrote: I get a 'Page not Found' error. This also happens if I try unpublishing the old menu item and making an entirely new one that points to the same article with a different alias. My understanding was that the SEF url was generated based on what the alias for the menu item was.

Anyone else ran into this before?
Hi,
First of all, it should be clear that the alias to be changed is that of the menu item, and not the alias of the article. Changing the alias of the article does not affect anything.

Secondly, don't un-publish the menu item to display the article (it will cause "Page not found" error), instead use a 'dummy menu' to have this menu item for the article, but the dummy is to be disabled later on. You then can change the alias of the dummy menu item for the corresponding article.

That is something that worked for me, I hope it will work for you too.
Regards,
enbees, I'm here: http://koperasoft.com

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5335
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Changing menu aliases with Joomla core SEF enabled

Post by sozzled » Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:34 pm

More necro-post forum-bombing.

@mods: Please lock this topic so that we do not have to waste our time with it.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?


Locked

Return to “Search Engine Optimization (Joomla! SEO) in Joomla! 1.5”