Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla!. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Locked
JGS2010
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:44 am

Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by JGS2010 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:06 am

Hello

As per the title I am not sure where to put the code on my template. I found some advice that said its as easy as going into the template via the back end, choosing edit html and then placing it on the second from bottom line just before the body> text. The yootheme didn't have this code so I am unsure how to add this.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

john.

browncar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:49 am

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by browncar » Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:40 am

Well there is an extension that might make this easier for you .

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ytics/6170

you would have to go get your Google analytics code but it should do the trick. I have not tested this particular extension but it seems to be very popular.

I would try to enter the code in the footer of the page (template) . If you do not want to use an extension.

Cheers.

JGS2010
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:44 am

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by JGS2010 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:56 am

Hey

Thank you for that link i will give that a go later. I went to put the code at the bottom of the template but i think yoo theme do their code differently, so i was not able to (although I don't know too much abotu this)

Thanks again.

User avatar
keliix06
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by keliix06 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:55 am

The plugin is the easiest way to do it, but if you edit the template's index.php file you'll find the </body> tag near the bottom of that for placing the code manually.
Doyle Lewis
BuyHTTP Internet Services
http://www.buyhttp.com/joomla_hosting.html - No Overselling Guarantee. Your Joomla site, faster.
http://www.joomlademo.com - 30 day free trial of Joomla

User avatar
v2interactive
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 823
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 12:32 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by v2interactive » Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:53 pm

keliix06 wrote:The plugin is the easiest way to do it, but if you edit the template's index.php file you'll find the </body> tag near the bottom of that for placing the code manually.
Exactly.
Josh
http://www.v2interactive.net - Atlanta Based Joomla Development and SEO

Raton
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by Raton » Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:22 pm

It won't work by modifying index.php. The guy is asking about a "Yootheme" template.
For yootheme tempaltes you have to modify head.php in /templates/yourtheme/warp/systems/joomla.1.5/layouts/
PM me for any Joomla related custom work.

tinus2003
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:25 am
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by tinus2003 » Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:36 am

The new Google Analytics tracking code should be added to the <head>, not </body>.
New plguins will make this possible for you. Yootheme templates are built up differently from other templates, so you won't be able to simply change the index.php.

Go with a simple system plugin to add the GA code. Make sure it is a asynchronous trackingcode script.
Kinds regards,
Martijn
http://www.analyticsforjoomla.com - Analytics plugins for Joomla
Follow us on Twitter: @analyticsjoomla

noizer1
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:38 pm

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by noizer1 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:44 pm

Could you clarify how to put the code in the file ?

EDIT:

I did my self, I put the code in a new php file named ga.php and at the last line of the head.php I have included:

<?php include ("ga.php"); ?>

Now the code is eh the <head> code and not in the <body> It has to be like this?
Last edited by noizer1 on Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tinus2003
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:25 am
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by tinus2003 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:18 pm

I would download a plugin to add the tracking code to your <head> section. You can find them in the extensions.joomla.org website.

Once you did this, you will need to install the plugin. If you don't know how this works, you can get a step by step instruction on how to do that here:
http://www.analyticsforjoomla.com/other ... la-16.html

After that, you're done!

I hope that answers your question. If not, you might want to ask the guys at Yootheme for a instruction on how to add the code to the files of their template.
Kinds regards,
Martijn
http://www.analyticsforjoomla.com - Analytics plugins for Joomla
Follow us on Twitter: @analyticsjoomla

noizer1
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:38 pm

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by noizer1 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:31 pm

I am using Joomla 1.6 and at the moment there is no extension (at least I haven't found one)

I edited my post because I think I have done it right

tinus2003
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:25 am
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by tinus2003 » Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:55 pm

There are actually a bunch right now.
Just check this google search to find them.

Get me a plugin
Kinds regards,
Martijn
http://www.analyticsforjoomla.com - Analytics plugins for Joomla
Follow us on Twitter: @analyticsjoomla

User avatar
mlvfx
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 10:36 am

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by mlvfx » Sun May 22, 2011 10:52 pm

Hi,
I believe yootheme index.php refers to /tamplate_name/layouts/template.php

index.php just refers to that code which has a standard index.php structure.
Copy your Google script before the closing </head> tag


So thats it for a manual placement!
Cheers!

sjimmy78
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:20 pm

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by sjimmy78 » Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:26 pm

thats solve it!

chris_tech
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:03 am
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by chris_tech » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:49 am

yes works although yootheme support more or less insist on their method to work as well (by putting the code before the ending body tag in the administration template area) - tried both and only the way suggested by google (placing the code before the ending head tag) works...

regards
chris
Last edited by alikon on Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: signature removed

User avatar
mfjlabs
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:59 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by mfjlabs » Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:25 pm

No one mentioned it, but thought it might be encouraging to see what GAs look like in YooTheme Tasty under J2.5 (
yootheme-tasty-style-screen.png
). No xtra extensions & been working sweet for months now.

Can't wait to get to 3.x.
Good luck with your upgrade.
Peace.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best,
Frank
The MFJLabs Team

User avatar
zombie4eva
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:50 am

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by zombie4eva » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:56 pm

mlvfx wrote:Hi,
I believe yootheme index.php refers to /tamplate_name/layouts/template.php

index.php just refers to that code which has a standard index.php structure.
Copy your Google script before the closing </head> tag


So thats it for a manual placement!
Cheers!
Thanks very much , I finally solved with your advise of editing template.php for yootheme template..

madmaxy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:49 pm

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by madmaxy » Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:12 pm

Hi,

ihave the same problem. Im using a yootheme template for my joomla 2.5.9.

I want to use this canonical.php (more infos here: http://www.concept-br.de/blog/canonical-tag-for-joomla/)

Ive posted the php include in the head of the layouts/template.php file, but without success.

Ive tried it with the head.php in warp/systems/joomla/layouts.head.php - same result !

I hope someone has an idea or solution.

Thx a lot

mad

fantoche
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:05 pm

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by fantoche » Mon May 27, 2013 3:55 pm

Hi,
Did you resolve it?
I have a yootheme template and I put the GA code in layouts/template.php without success. Please tell me how you do it.

User avatar
pishro
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:22 am

Re: Where to put Google analytics on Yootheme template

Post by pishro » Sat Sep 21, 2013 7:58 pm

fantoche wrote:I have a yootheme template and I put the GA code in layouts/template.php without success. Please tell me how you do it.
hi fantoche! ;)
please see this question in Support yootheme : Google Analytics Tracking code

Code: Select all

http://www.yootheme.com/support/question/6050


Locked

Return to “Search Engine Optimization (Joomla! SEO) in Joomla! 1.5”