Joomla, Drupal or Wordpress ?

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla!. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

nettiehughes
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla, Drupal or Wordpress ?

Post by nettiehughes » Sat May 21, 2011 9:18 am

I am a freelance web developer (newbie). I know xhtml, CSS and SEO. Now, i want to learn a CMS. I want to learn a CMS which has a promising career for a freelancer. Plz guide. Thanks in advance.

ranwilli
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Joomla, Drupal or Wordpress ?

Post by ranwilli » Sat May 21, 2011 11:56 am

Contrary to what I would have said a year or two ago, I feel it would be in your best interest to learn all three...

It is not a "one size fits all" situation. WordPress has made great strides in the recent past, and is a very capable CMS now rather than just a blog platform. Joomla is still enormously powerful, especially since the introduction of 1.6... Drupal has long been recognized as the leader with the tallest learning curve...

You will find clients needing help in all three, and you'd be well-positioned to give good advice to clients regarding which to use...
Don't HACK the Joomla! core, Instead "Extend" and/or "Override."
Stay ON the update path.
https://harpervance.com

PushkarCMS
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by PushkarCMS » Mon May 23, 2011 8:42 pm

Joomla is the best! wordpress is mainly for blogs and drupal is much more complex to implement.

wds_mel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by wds_mel » Sun May 29, 2011 12:12 pm

Hi hope you are doing great , I believe it depends on the choices of your client, however the robust scalable power of Joomla makes developing and the control there off much easier.

i guess all 3 the mentioned management system is supported well however the Joomla support community is huge and always ready to help

I hope this helps

Regards

Mel :eek:

harryhamlin