Unable to change editor -- where does Joomla store data on which editor to use?

Need help with a WYSIWYG-editor in Joomla! 1.0.x? This is the place to be.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
tijs
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Unable to change editor -- where does Joomla store data on which editor to use?

Post by tijs » Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:53 am

Hi,

I have a strange problem. I tried to install TMedit, which went fine. Then I made configuration.php writeable and changed the editor from Mosce 1.0.3 to TMedit. When I try to create a new article, however, mosce is still the editor. So I went back to the global configuration, and TMedit was displayed as the default editor. So I uninstalled mosce as it is giving me a headache on the latest Firefox beta versions. But now there is no editor at all when creating new content. So it looks like Joomla is still looking for the uninstalled mosce.

Now, what I'd like to know, where does Joomla store the information about which editor to use? It is not in configuration.php as far as I can see, so I suppose it is somewhere in the database?

A workaround is to explicitly point to TMedit for the user account I am using to add content, but this is not the general setting.

Could somebody please shed light on this?

Thanks,

t.

Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Unable to change editor -- where does Joomla store data on which editor to u

Post by Tonie » Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:59 am

There is a global value in configuration.php, $mosConfig_editor = 'mosce'; for example. In the #__users table, there is a params column where you can set individual settings per user. This looks something like editor=mosce.

MinnetonkaCZ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice