Page 1 of 1

Joomla 1.6 - How to turn Display Errors Off

Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 5:46 am
by bradley568
I have my site hosted on 1and1 (US) and am testing Joomla 1.6 Beta 6. During installation I noticed that Display Errors is currently On. I would like to turn this off.

My test folder is off the root directory (./Joomla16) and I have set up a test.mydomain.com site to point directly to the ./Joomla16 folder.

I have added my own PHP.ini to my ./Joomla16, ./Joomla16/administrator and ./Joomla16/installation folders. Below is the PHP.ini file:

### Turn allow_url_fopen ON if you want to allow for site feeds ###
### to reach your site and other content as such ###
### Security Risk involved in allowing allow_url_fopen###
allow_url_fopen = off;
memory_limit = 40M;
upload_max_filesize = 20M;
max_execution_time = 50000;
browscap = /usr/local/lib/browscap.ini;
### Register Globals off for php 4 ###
###if you use an htaccess file to change to 5 this doesn't matter ###
register_globals = off;
error_reporting = (E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_WARNING);
url_rewriter.tags = “a=href,area=href,frame=src,form=fakeentry,fieldset=”;
display_errors = off;

I have also modified the .htaccess file in my root folder (./, not ./Joomla16). My .htaccess file is below:

AddType x-mapp-php5 .php


When I try to install 1.6 it still shows that Display Errors is on.

Any ideas on what is still causing this?

Re: Joomla 1.6 - How to turn Display Errors Off

Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:17 pm
by Bjorg
Utilize the web hosting service cpanel, “File Manager”, navigate to the Joomla! root (installation directory)
and edit the configuration.php file:

Code: Select all

var $error_reporting = '-1';
This should remove error reporting.

Restart Joomla! and check to see if the edit remains.

Suggest checking file and directory permission settings:
http://docs.joomla.org/What_are_the_rec ... issions%3F

Hope this helps!

Re: Joomla 1.6 - How to turn Display Errors Off

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:50 pm
by akmartin
hi .. i have these problems too ..

display errors is on

output buffering is on

i'm not using mamp, xamp, wamp whatever ..

i don't have a php.ini file .. i don't see one at all ..

there is a htaccess.txt file though

is this what i change? .. if it is, what do change or add? .. if i have to add something, where exactly do i add it ..

and furthermore .. why, if it's better for these things to be OFF would they be on? .. why not have it off in the first place so the user just loads it up and away you go .. what brianiac mastermind made that decision .. lol .. i'm just being a jerk you don't have to answer that ..

?

but can someone help me turn these errors off please

Re: Joomla 1.6 - How to turn Display Errors Off

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2011 12:54 am
by Bjorg
Normally, Joomla! should not load the front-end visible to a user without a "configuration.php" file
(Nothing mentioned about a php.ini file?).

If manually installed, perhaps try the web host service "Cpanel" using either "Fantastico"
or "Simple Scripts" to install Joomla! correctly.

This is a common mistake when attempting to manually install Joomla! the first time
and it is for this reason to suggest an automatic installation from a trusted source
(i.e., web hosting service).

Hope this helps!