migrating from localhost to server

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
ArjanR
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

migrating from localhost to server

Post by ArjanR » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:46 am

Hi everyone.

I'v been sitting here many hours (16) trying to get my first joomla online. I'v used the localhost method for a couple of weeks and newly got a domain and registration info etc. The webhotel has helped me a lot so far but now i'm stuck (with a headache).

We succeeded in uploading all my joomla files but all i got was a clean default joomla installation. Without the work I put into it. As I understand it I have not uploaded the database. I don't even know where to find my database, let alone how to upload it. There is a lot of info out there but it's not helping me enough unfortunately..

The site http://www.theeightteam.com is as it is now.

Isn't there an easy way for a newbie to all of this. I consider myself normal smart but it just feels to complicated...

/Arjan
Last edited by ArjanR on Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: migrating from localhost to server

Post by imanickam » Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:49 pm

Where have you uploaded your Joomla! site files? Is your domain is pointing to the location where you have uploaded the files?

As for as the database is concerned, it varies between host services. So their document is the best place to understand how the database is setup.

You could transfer your site developed in Joomla! from localhost to a remote host by the following ways.