What happened to the non-commercial spirit of Joomla?

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
rcristofrf
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

What happened to the non-commercial spirit of Joomla?

Post by rcristofrf » Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:46 pm

Hi.

Just testing Joomla 1.7 and while browsing all the extensions we use for our non-profit/charitable organization, one thing comes to my mind: what happened to all those great non-commercial extensions, which made Joomla so great years ago?

It seems, that most of the extensions have turned commercial.

That may mean, that private users and non-profit organizations will find it hard or even impossible to customize their site for their specific needs - indeed, this is what we are seeing. We can't shell out any money for our non-profit website, because we have none.

And I don't believe, we are the only one.

I really love Joomla. I use it personally and for several organizational websites since it has been called "Mambo".
And one great argument for Mambo and then Joomla has always been the great pool of free and great extensions.

Until some time ago it has always been like that: you could use an extension for non-profit use for free, but if you wanted it for a for-profit website, you had to pay. And there were options for donations. Or backlinks. Or limited and unlimited versions.

But now I browse the extensions directory and it seems, at least 50% is paid-only. And in many cases not even paid versions with unpaid siblings. Some functionality can only be added via a paid extension.