Website adds www. prefix

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
zaaanck
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Website adds www. prefix

Post by zaaanck » Tue May 15, 2018 7:08 am

Hello,

I have copied the live joomla website to my localhost, and when I go to the site a www. prefix is automatically added. So if I type htpp://website/ it changes to www.website/ and the site isn't working. It's something in the database because it happened only after I imported the db.
Last edited by toivo on Thu May 17, 2018 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved from 3.x

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Website adds www. prefix

Post by sozzled » Tue May 15, 2018 8:21 am

It's unlikely to be in the database. The information is either defined as part of the management of the domain within the webhosting package that you've purchased or it's defined within the .htaccess file defined within the files system used by your website. I could be wrong but I don't think it's just something that happened after importing the database; I suspect you "imported" one or more files as well.

zaaanck
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by zaaanck » Tue May 15, 2018 8:44 am

Hmm well I truly have no clue what could be wrong, I even tried changing some settings in .htaccess but none seemed to have helped. I am actually just an intern right now at the company so I don't know about webhosting package, would it maybe help if I paste the .htaccess file so you could check or ?

sozzled
I've been banned!

Post by sozzled » Tue May 15, 2018 8:54 am