not able to log onto my joomla backend

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
dide-design
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

not able to log onto my joomla backend

Post by dide-design » Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:54 pm

suddenly my joomla site is not showing my main menu anymore. other links on the site are showing a 404 error.
I can't log on to the backend to see what's wrong.
Does anybody have an idea what happened? i did not make any changes that could have caused this issue.
the website is [ redacted ]
Last edited by toivo on Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: link to non-Joomla website removed

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: not able to log onto my joomla backend

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:49 pm

You are using a Joomla version that has not been supported for 4 years. 2.5.28 was released in December 2014. If your host have upgraded the version of php on the server to 7.x, it will not be compatible.

dide-design
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by dide-design » Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:13 am

Is there a solution to my problem? I can’t select a php version lower than 7.1. Can i update my joomla version without logging in to the backend?

sozzled
I've been banned!

Post by sozzled » Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:56 am

dide-design wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:13 am
Is there a solution to my problem?
The answer depends on what you're prepared to pay: the solution will cost you time and/or money.