Not possible to change Cache > _system 755 in 777

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
olgra
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:24 pm

Not possible to change Cache > _system 755 in 777

Post by olgra » Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:03 pm

Good morning to you,
Just a problem in Joomla for several days.
Just that I want to backup Global Configuration > Server, I still have a problem like this in the photo: could not save data. Error: could not write to the configuration file.
I tried to change the Cache folder to 777. Ok for folders but not possible for cache > _system. This folder has nothing and stays in 755. So you can’t change it and save Global Configuration > Server.
How is it possible to do that?
Thank you
Last edited by imanickam on Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Per the Forum Rule, moved the topic from the [French] Forum 2.5 - Extensions tierce partie to the [English] forum General Questions - Joomla! 2.5

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37155
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Not possible to change Cache > _system 755 in 777

Post by Webdongle » Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:40 pm

Folders should be 755 not 777
viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 please
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

olgra
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:24 pm

Re: Not possible to change Cache > _system 755 in 777

Post by olgra » Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:43 pm

Yes, everything is in 755. But I need to change to 777 just for a cache folder > _system. Because at the moment, I have a big problem because I can no longer save Global Configuration > Server for Joomla (here's a picture). Same problem if I change something or another.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37155
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Not possible to change Cache > _system 755 in 777

Post by Webdongle » Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:14 pm

Changing it to 777 is not the solution to your problem
viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 will help us help you.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

olgra
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:24 pm

Re: Not possible to change Cache > _system 755 in 777

Post by olgra » Tue Mar 26, 2019 7:04 pm

Thank you. I read everything. Just a few more questions before I do myself:
• can I do everything myself?
• is - this allows you to do what is not possible in Filezilla, FTP,...?
• racine_Web /: example www / so for example racine_web = joomla.com for www.joomla.com?
• With all this, normally no problem for our site with Joomla? just to get to save a small change of settings and then remove all added?
• Other things?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37155
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Not possible to change Cache > _system 755 in 777

Post by Webdongle » Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:10 pm

Please just run the fpa viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 and post the results in this thread.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 2.5”