Unable to login with Safari Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
shanewn
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Unable to login with Safari

Post by shanewn » Tue Feb 11, 2020 4:37 am

Hi,

Joomla 2.5.28
PHP 5.6

I have had a client contact me in regards to users having issues logging in via iOS type devices including Safari (latest version), iPads and iPhones. I have tested and have the same issue. Login works through Chrome and android devices. There is no error message and the login screen looks like it is submitting quickly and then just resets itself ready to login again. No error messages on screen or in safari or in any logs I can see.

I have checked config file, file permissions and cleared session tables, tried the non SSL version, checked in debug mode. Not sure what is the issue.

Here is a user details to test to see the issue in Safari:
https://nektavite.com.au/home/bird-feeders
shanedm
wgE5BJ+97P

I am not sure what else to look at, any suggestions?
Thanks.

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Unable to login with Safari

Post by toivo » Tue Feb 11, 2020 5:55 am

Welcome to the Joomla forum!

Are there any errors in the PHP error log? Set the error reporting option to 'Maximum' in Global Configuration first.

Does Safari report any javascript errors? The following tutorials show how to find them:
https://www.joomlart.com/tutorials/joom ... -in-joomla
https://wordpress.org/support/article/u ... rs/#safari
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

shanewn
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by shanewn » Tue Feb 11, 2020 9:37 pm