Locked out of years old account

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
jmarquezrpaa
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Locked out of years old account

Post by jmarquezrpaa » Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:54 pm

Hello! I'm new here, please bear with me. I'm the sysadmin at the office and haven't been on for very long. We have a 4 year old website that uses Joomla that is managed through cPanel in GoDaddy. Whoever created the site and the account has been gone for at least 4 years and with them the username and password. Suddenly, we need to remove some information from the site urgently.

I saw that I'm supposed to be able to change the administrator username, password, and email through cPanel, but after doing that I still don't have access to the administrator account. Does the change take time to carry over to the Joomla system? Or are we screwed without access? There's zero backups of the site (yay) and I doubt there's also any backups in our host.

AlexVega
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Locked out of years old account

Post by AlexVega » Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:02 pm

Hi there!,

Welcome to the Forum, please read this step by step instructions:
https://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_reco ... assword%3F

Don't forget to back up, update your php version in the server and update your site and extensions as soon as possible.

AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Post by AMurray » Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:33 pm

You can probably do your backups though cPanel - hopefully GD have the functions required turned on.