Migrating an old 2.5.16 site to new server

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
SLAinc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Migrating an old 2.5.16 site to new server

Post by SLAinc » Wed Jun 10, 2020 8:51 pm

I have been trying over the last week (in my spare, work-filled time) to move an old backed up 2.5.16 Joomla site to a new server. This is an old site that hasn't been worked on or active in the last two or three years, but it has a lot of articles/taxonomy that I don't want to recreate.

I tried copying the original folders (via ftp) to the new server, creating a blank database and importing the old backup database into phpMyAdmin. I updated the configuration.php to reflect the new settings for database. I was never able to login to the administration backend due to jauthenticate errors (going by memory here). I tried resetting the login password in the database, but no luck. I downloaded a fresh copy of 2.5.16 and replacing the plugins directory to no avail.

I then wiped out the directories and tried using the freshly downloaded 2.5.16 to install first. I have been unable to get past the language selection on the install page. It shows

Code: Select all

Notice: Array to string conversion in ../libraries/joomla/registry/registry.php on line 342

Notice: Array to string conversion in ..libraries/joomla/registry/registry.php on line 342

Notice: Array to string conversion in ../libraries/joomla/registry/registry.php on line 342