500 error on Joomla admin login

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
DJNickAnnies
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

500 error on Joomla admin login

Post by DJNickAnnies » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:52 am

We have some sites hosted with Siteground, and one of these sites has an issue with the admin login. The site in question is http://www.kingstown.uk.com/

When logging in the return simply goes to a 500 error page. I had read the forums and support notes to try and resolve this but nothing is working - folder permissions, changing the admin password via phpMyAdmin etc. It's a corporate site that I need to make urgent changes to but I simply cannot get access. Does anyone have any ideas?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks

Nick

DJNickAnnies
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: 500 error on Joomla admin login

Post by DJNickAnnies » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:02 am

Quick update. After Siteground did some tweaking the login now just folds back to the blank login, in a loop. So it does not give a 500 error but still won't allow me to login still. Siteground say that because they feel it is not a server error but a software error they can offer no further support, which is just about as unhelpful as you can get - clearly not willing to help, even though they claim to be a good Joomla host. Support is support, not in their eyes I guess...

abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Post by abernyte » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:25 pm

That URL is displaying fine for me on Brave, Firefox and Palemoon. Is the blank page after the admin login?