Every HTML page loads a fake version of my website? Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
MarkAther33
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Every HTML page loads a fake version of my website?

Post by MarkAther33 » Sun Nov 01, 2020 2:34 pm

I've got a weird issue going on with one of my sites that I still haven't gotten around to migrating to a newer version of Joomla. Every single HTML page I load opens up my website but the main body is full of rubbish like [* spam *] adverts, dating website adverts, penis enlargement etc. The template still works fine, all the menus are fine and when clicking on a menu item I'm taken to my actual website.

The problem is this is happening to legitimate and non-legitimate HTML pages. For example, I had my "old" HTML based website running for anyone who wants a trip down memory lane. It was kept in a folder called "old" and was access via "domain.com/old/index.html" ... This now takes me to the "fake" Joomla powered site. However, it works with directories that don't even exist. If I was to go to "domain.com/ilovedogs" it would bring up a 404 error as that directory does not exist on my server. However, if I was to go to "domain.com/ilovedogs/especiallyiftheyarepugs.html" it will take me back to the "fake" version of my website. Basically if it has a HTML extension whether the directory exists or not, I get taken to a fake page!

I've cleared the cache in Joomla, tried different browsers / computers etc but its still the same. Anyone have any ideas?

MarkAther33
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling