DataBase Table to much data?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
jrek_mas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:42 pm

DataBase Table to much data?

Post by jrek_mas » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm

I have about 2000 records in a table. In joomla administrator backend if I choose to display "20, 50 or 100" of those entries per page it works fine. Problem is if I choose to list them "All", than the page goes blank.
Before with only about 1500 entries in table worked just fine.

is that a core Joomla limitation?

 
User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: DataBase Table to much data?

Post by RussW » Sun Feb 13, 2011 2:10 am

Nope, it's most likely a PHP timeout condition, how long PHP is set to wait for a script to run and complete before it kills it, to avoid runaway scripts and over use of resources. This may also be effected by the performance of the Web Server and MySQL servers.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

jrek_mas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: DataBase Table to much data?

Post by jrek_mas » Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:00 am

RussW
Thank you for reply.
Do you have any recommendations on how to fix this?

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: DataBase Table to much data?

Post by RussW » Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:27 am

do as you already do and don't show all the records or get your host to increase PHP memory and timeout values... If you turn on Error Reporting to maximum in the global configuration you should ne ale to see which one is being hit first, but both might need increasing.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

jrek_mas
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: DataBase Table to much data?

Post by jrek_mas » Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:25 pm

ok, If I change the error reporting to maximum this is what I get, I'm not sure if this is what you meant?
None of those errors have anything to do with my DataBase problem...

Warning: fopen(/home/website/public_html/administrator/templates/system/error.php) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/website/public_html/plugins/system/webgurugoogleanalytics.php on line 594

Warning: fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /home/website/public_html/plugins/system/webgurugoogleanalytics.php on line 596

Warning: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /home/website/public_html/plugins/system/webgurugoogleanalytics.php on line 598

 

Locked

Return to “Performance - Joomla! 2.5”