Paste to new article times out with browser 100% CPU: why?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jzlcdh
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Paste to new article times out with browser 100% CPU: why?

Post by jzlcdh » Fri May 27, 2011 11:49 am

I am trying to paste 44KB into a new article but the browser (both FF4 and IE7) goes up to near 100% CPU and after 2 or 3 minutes stops responding. Problem occurs both in front and back end. Editor is TinyMCE. No problem uploading files via cpanel.

This worked OK previously on a nearer host but perhaps I was on 1.6.1 when I did that test not my current 1.6.3.

Could it be that the paste is trying to go through in tiny chunks thus racking up CPU? Any ideas what I should look at to investigate further?

Regards

Geoff

P.S. There seem to be lots of posts in this forum which are not related to the title of the forum. Maybe the moderator could move them out of the forum or at least discourage off-topic posts as it makes it time consuming to browse through for similar problems to mine?

RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Paste to new article times out with browser 100% CPU: wh

Post by RussW » Fri May 27, 2011 10:12 pm

This is not a Joomla! Performance issue, please post in the most appropraite forum (in this case, probably Administration)