Menu Item - Browser Page Title Bug? Double Words Repeat

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
AriaPlat
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Menu Item - Browser Page Title Bug? Double Words Repeat

Post by AriaPlat » Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:44 am

Hi Joomla community,

This is my first post, glad to join and I hope to contribute positively to the wealth of information out there.

I wish to report a possible bug in Joomla 1.7.3, regarding Menu Items and Browser Page Titles. I am posting this here to confirm and determine whether this is a bug or something else at play with the template.

Under 'Menu Manager: Edit Menu Item', you can set your 'Title' to be, for example, "Cars" - Ideally something short, to go into the menu structure of your website.

However, for the purposes of search engine optimization, I would elaborate on this title in 'Browser Page Title', found under 'Page Display Options'. For example, "We Sell Cheap Cars Direct to the Public"

For some reason, when the word "Cars" is used again in the 'Browser Page Title', both the the words immediately before and immediately after "Cars" is repeated again in the Browser Page Title, on the actual page.

So the <title> on the actual page will read "We Sell Cheap We Sell Cheap Cars Direct to the Public Direct to the Public".

If however the 'Browser Page Title', is set to words that are not used as the 'Menu Item Title', then this problem does not occur. It only occurs when the words used in the 'Browser Page Title', match the 'Menu Title'. However, in 100% of the cases, I want my 'Menu title' to correspond to words that I use in the 'Browser Page Title', for the purposes of SEO.